dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Stop All Sounds in Level 1?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    172

    Arrow

    I have a sound in level 1
    In Level 2 I want a button that will turn off levels 1's sound.....possible??

    Thanks!!!!

    k
    [Edited by kicia on 03-16-2001 at 05:34 PM]

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    1,159
    In Flash 5, you will need this code:

    _level1.stopAllSounds ();


    In Flash 4, you will need a tell target statement to _level1

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    172
    THANK YOU for the response!!!

    It still did not stop the sounds unfortunately..



    Here is what I have:

    In my MAIN movie I loaded a .swf into level 1

    [the only reason for this is because we MISPLACED the .fla........dammit all! ]

    In my MAIN movie I have 3 buttons that each play a seperate wav via loadmovie

    I want it so that if you click on any of the 3 buttons, it will unload and load the correct swf to play
    AND
    Stop the sound that I have in level 1


    Here is what my buttons look like:

    on (release) {
    _level1.stopAllSounds();
    unloadMovieNum (2);
    loadMovieNum ("wav1.swf", 2);
    }


    The level 1 sound continues to play for some reason, but the unload/load works fine...

    Any suggestions are appreciated!!!

    THANX much!!
    k

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    172
    up!


    Lets send this one through again...

    Thanks!
    k

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    172
    I've even put:
    _level1.stopAllSounds()

    into its own button and it still does not stop the sound in the Level1.swf that I loaded.


    any ideas?

    Thanks!!
    k

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    1,159
    AAAHHH!!! sorry it took me so long to see this topic again. Yes, you are correct it does not work - I apologize. This however, should work - just tested it:

    on (release) {
    with (_level1) {
    stopAllSounds ();
    }

    }

    Post again if it works for you.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    172
    Hello GGW!

    I put:

    on (release) {
    with (_level1) {
    stopAllSounds ();
    }

    }

    in its own button and what it does now is stop the sound for a "brief" second and then plays it again......this is wacked!!!!

    I wish I had the .fla that is my level1 but SOMEBODY was suppose to archive it........and they didn't....and it's lost in never never land now..

    Thanks very much for your time on this one!!

    k

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    172
    WOW! What i am noticing now is the sounds I'm loading into Level2 are being stopped by
    on (release) {
    with (_level1) {
    stopAllSounds ();
    }

    }



    What the H??



  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    172
    actually...even if I change the 1 to a 0 like:

    on (release) {
    with (_level0) {
    stopAllSounds ();
    }

    }


    That stops the sounds in level 2!

    BUT

    not the sound in level 1


    ....like I said....WACKED!!


  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    172
    Hi

    I am still having problems with this one

    Why would a _level1.stopAllSounds ();
    stop all sounds in my level2 and only temporarily stop the sound in level1?



    uggggghhhh!



    kicia

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    1,159
    Well, I have to admit that I am somewhat stumped on this one. If you would like, you can send me the base Flash file and the L1 SWF and I can see if I can make any headway with it. Otherwise, you may be stuck recreating the SWF in flash so you can modify it. My email is in my footer below.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center