A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: need help with design layout

I am a little new to webdesign i am looking for some help on getting started with designing what would be the thing to do to get started...

First, use other sites as influence rarely. When you look too much at web sites you like, and you consciously use the aspects of those sites in your own design, it's not good.
    When that happens, it's not about what you really want to design, rather, it's about how well you can duplicate something else and how well another site can dicate the design of yours.

Since you're new at this stuff, that's a good thing to start out with. Those first few steps you take are important-if you get off on the wrong one, it's much harder to change along the way. You'll fall into bad habits at times.

To get started, find some information on color theory, layout and a few other things.

Here's a link to something that Pope de Flash created as a tutorial on Flashkit. It's pretty good for someone just starting out:

http://www.flashkit.com/tutorials/Ge...40/index.shtml

Take a look at that, and by all means try not to think anything is too overwhelming. There's many important things to learn, and by getting a good grasp of them you'll be moving along.

Finally, the best advice I can give: You can't learn any of this stuff overnight. Getting good at design comes through hours and hours and months and months of learning, trial and error, practice, practice, and a little more practice. It's a fun time. Personally, I was up till 6.30 am last night working on a new image for my new site-I had something laid out and a few drawings done, and then with one little tweak of a graphic in Photoshop, I saw a whole new idea open up. I ditched the previous idea, and spent around 4 hours straight working out a scheme for the new one. And I could hardly go to sleep because I was so excited about what I came up with.