A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: more on optimizing curves

Smile

this is my first anime done in flash, the file size is really big about 67kB, i dont know yet of optimizing the curves, and now, it decreased up to 20 kB. too much nodes really eats up bytes. ^_~

[swf width=200 height=250 background="#FFFFFF"]http://weavearts10.tripod.com/anime2.swf[/swf]

I could be way off on this, but one trade off you might want to consider is.. well i noticed you don't use any lines... for instance on his neck line, etc. anyway, i'd try using hairlines instead of fill. it doesn't look as good but will probably reduce file size

also, there are two or three frames to that movie right?

did you make the majority of his body that doesn't change a symbol? cus if its all just shapes sitting there in the open or in a group, that'll up the file size

Hi, dustmen and elektrisyan. I was wondering...

Dustmen, when you said to use "hairlines instead of fill", what does that mean? I'm very new to Flash so I don't understand. You said that reduces file size?

Elektrisyan, "Hi". I like all of your windblast effects. Could you tell me, what does "optimizing curves" mean?

Originally posted by chairo01
    Hi, dustmen and elektrisyan. I was wondering...

Dustmen, when you said to use "hairlines instead of fill", what does that mean? I'm very new to Flash so I don't understand. You said that reduces file size?

Elektrisyan, "Hi". I like all of your windblast effects. Could you tell me, what does "optimizing curves" mean?
    "Hairline" means the smallest line width in flash, the difference between it and other lines is it keeps it's width no matter how much you zoom in. (try it yourself, it's the one that looks like an "H". )

Lines take up less processor power and file space because they're simpler shapes than the fills.

I hope that makes sense..
    [Edited by ThundaChunk on 04-16-2001 at 04:10 PM]

Thanks for explaining that Thuda,