dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: BUG: can't change profile

  1. #1
    Hello,

    I've been trying to change my profile, but everytime I hit the 'submit changes' button, i'm directed to a page that says:

    > There is already a member with that email address, and the administrator has required that all users must have unique email addresses. If you already have a username and have forgotten your password, please click here.

    Am I is done doing something stoopid, or is this a legit bug?

    thanks,
    dan conti
    http://www.contidesign.com
    [swf width="300" height="40" background="#FFDDBB"]http://www.contidesign.com/flash/danconti.swf[/swf]
    [Edited by dconti on 04-22-2001 at 08:08 PM]

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    451
    Works ok for me, sounds like your clicking on the register button rather than the profile link, click the profile link on the top of this page.

  3. #3
    Trust me, that's not the case. I've tried this five times.

    Here's the process I've used:

    I click on PROFILE, which takes me to the screen that allows me to change my profile info. If I had hit the REGISTER button, I wouldn't even make it to the profile info page, right?

    I make my changes and click the SUBMIT CHANGES button.

    That takes me to a page with the message: "There is already a member with that email address, and the administrator has required that all users must have unique email addresses. If you already have a username and have forgotten your password, please click here."

    Any thoughts?


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    11
    I've been having the same problem as you. I can't change my homepage that listed!

  5. #5
    I knew I wasn't crazy. What are your system specs?

    I've tried on two rigs:

    1)PIII, win2k, ie5.00.2614.3500,

    2)PIII, win98, ie5

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    11
    i got a p2-400 cuz my the board of my new 1.2 ghz blew up upon first boot. =(
    using ie5. I've tried removing all the cookie and temp file but still no help. I even tried going to the profile page thru different links found in different place on this site and still, I get that member already registered message.

  7. #7
    That's some pretty thorough troubleshooting. Seems pretty clear that this is a legit bug, at least for some of us.

    Any others with this problem??

    Anybody with any theories on why this might be happening?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    451
    I can't reproduce the error, I will let the admins know, any more info on the exact steps to get to the error would be helpful. We will use your logins to attempt to reproduce and then fix the bug.

  9. #9
    Thanks very much, Steve.

    I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to look into this.

    dan


    __________________________________________________ ___
    dan conti
    http://www.contidesign.com
    http://www.findadesiger.org
    [swf width="300" height="40" background="#FFDDBB"]http://www.contidesign.com/flash/danconti.swf[/swf]

  10. #10
    ah yes, exact steps. Here goes:

    1)go to flashkit.com board

    2)click on profile

    3) above action brings up the modify your profile page and prompts me for my name und password

    4)enter my name and password and click 'submit now'

    5) above action brings up the edit profile page. the url I get looks like this http://board.flashkit.com/board/member.php

    6) I change a few thing here and there, then click the submit modifications button at the bottom of the page

    7)I get a page with the message

    "vBulletin Message
    There is already a member with that email address, and the administrator has required that all users must have unique email addresses. If you already have a username and have forgotten your password, please click here."

    8)check profile again, and changes are lost.

    HERE ARE MY SYSTEM SPECS:
    piii, ie5, 56k, win2k

    thanks again



  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    11
    That's the same thing that happnes to me. I have even tried accessing the profiles page from MYFK and then the "modify my profile." button. I make my changes and then bam, I get that error message stating that there's already a member with the same email and username. I have a pentium2 - 400 with a dsl connection. I even tried deleting all temp files and cookies. No help. Thanks for looking into this. I would really love to change my homepage.

  12. #12
    Just wondering...

    I know you guys are busy, but this bug hasn't been fixed. Is it being looked into, or are you going to take care of it in the big fk overhaul?

    thanks,
    dan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center