A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: opening *.doc in word from exe..

  1. #1
    can anybody tell me how I can get a flash executable (resided on cd-rom) to link to a word-document, which opens in MSword?

    do I need to use FScommand (if so, how) or can I just geturl a *.doc file?

    (please reply if you're sure or have done it before)

  2. #2
    Senior Member sxdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    844
    easy:

    FSCommand ("exec", "start" & chr(9) & "path\\name_of_file.doc");

    of course, this will assume that person that opens it have some .doc viewer, if not, it will open "Open with..." window...

    hope it helps...


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    21
    Does this have to be authored on PC?
    I've tried it with my Mac version of Flash4, exported an EXE and played it on PC, but it just flashes up a DOS window...



  4. #4
    Senior Member sxdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    844
    if it opens dos window, than it works... you did something wrong with your path...

    cheers...


  5. #5

    sorry for the late response :)

    thanks!

    I got it to work! I used an external batch file to open the document at first (thanks for that tip cfreiling - who sent me an email) but I guess sxdesigns way would be even more efficient.. but it doesn't seem to work..

    thanks for the response!

    I can't get the action to work.. (no response on opening *.doc with FS Command.. the button just sits there.. staring at me

    [Edited by elmerz on 04-20-2001 at 01:36 PM]

  6. #6
    Senior Member sxdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    844
    for macs you need to create different version, and to use applescript (although i think that macs will run it even with simple exec and just path/file.ext for argument)

    cheers...


  7. #7

    question

    sorry 'bout that..
    it didn't seem to work after all..

    what does chr(9) do?

    do I need to enable somethin before?
    I just made a test button, inserted the script on release..
    but it just sits there.. no action..

    since I've placed the .doc file in the same directory, I can do without the path, right?

  8. #8

    this is frustrating...

    If you could tell me where I'm going wrong??

    this is my test setup:
    on d:\ I have the flash exe..
    d:\docs\text.doc is my word document..
    (this time round I've put the doc in another folder..)

    in the flash movie I've made a button with the following script:

    on (release) {
    fscommand ( "exec" , "start" & chr(9) & "docs\\text.doc" );
    }

    this obviously isn't correct?!? but I don't know why..

  9. #9
    Senior Member sxdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    844
    hmmm... wierd...

    On (Release)
    FS Command ("exec", "start" & chr(9) &"docs\\text.doc")
    End On

    definitely works (on winblows)... (just tested it)

  10. #10
    thanks anyway..

    yeah.. it is strange, isn't it..
    I can get it to run the batch file I created.. I guess I'll stick with that than..

    cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center