Poll: What Mac is everyone using here?
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 61

Thread: Poll: What Mac is everyone using here?

  1. #1
    hi all,


    just want to see what everyone is using in the Mac Flash community here, for starter here's my set up:

    G4 500 Titanium Powerbook
    512mb RAM
    20GB HD

    would be nice if Apple put in the geforce2 MX video cards in these down the road...

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    66

    Arsenal

    G3 w/DVD
    256MB Ram
    6GB HB (just a wee little one)

  3. #3
    juggernart me2222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    1,322
    G4 450 MP (wrooom! )
    128 MB (need more!)
    30 GB HD

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    15

    :( Still not enough memory!

    G4 450 MP

    Storage:
    1Gb Ram (Cass 2)
    30Gb System Drive (IBM)
    75Gb SCSI Raid 1 (75Gb Seagate Cheater x2) (Work Drive)
    DigiDesign D2D Recorder

    Video Section:
    19" Iiyama VMP 450 x2
    ProPerformance III (Second video card)

    Audio Section:
    Linn Audio Power Amp and Pre-Amp
    JBL Control 5 x2
    DigiDesign ProTools



    The system is configured to copy the system folder into RAM Disk then it restarts, takes only 5 second startup

    I know... the momory's a over kill... but we still get low memory at times.
    [Edited by UltraNEO on 05-21-2001 at 02:48 AM]

  5. #5
    Now listen heah! Mac8myPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Steve Job's Doorstep
    Posts
    695
    i'm all old school

    8500 w/ g3 upgrade

    soon to go to the 400mhz upgrade

    i'm too poor to buy a new mac

  6. #6
    juggernart me2222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    1,322
    Originally posted by Mac8myPC
    i'm all old school
    I bought my G4 some weeks ago.
    Before that I was on a PowerCenterPro Mac-clone with a 604e/240Mhz processor.
    When I bought the clone four years ago it was one of the fastest.
    It was nearly as expensive as the G4, now it“s of no value
    The rapid decrease of hardware“s value is a real pain.


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    6
    450 G4
    256 meg ram
    60 + gig HD space
    DVD RAM drive (which I never really use, waste of $$)
    CDR/RW
    OS X

    pretty much stock otherwise.


    _luke

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    25

    g4

    G4 450
    128mb (890 mb)

    30 (3,000,000) gig

    zip drive

    scsi pci card
    sony digital cam
    sony digital camcord


  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    143

    What will you do with this info?

    Just wondering!!!

    Extras:

    Apple Pro Keyboard
    Apple Pro Mouse
    80Gb FireWire Hard Drive
    Monitor - Sony Multiscan G500 21' (realy Flat)
    External usb Zip 100Mb
    External scsi Jaz 1Gb
    Mini DV - Canon XL-1

    Helps?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    21

    imac

    imac dv - INDIGO
    500 mhz, 192 ram, 20 GB HD, CDR
    Apple Pro Keyboard & Mouse

    sounds:
    Harmon Kardon Soundsticks w/isub

    p.s. i'm new here - is there a log in?

  11. #11
    The Definition of... Urbansory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    702

    HOW YA LOVE THIS ONE

    G Fizzy 4 hizzy(G4 400 mHz)
    256 Ram
    A terrible 10 gb hard drive.
    Well since my monitor is not the lovly 22 in studio display yet, I will not speak on it.
    Weak external Que CD-RW.
    DVD internal, no zip, whats the point of a zip any way, my files are way too big.
    I have a 8 track reciever connected to my G fizzy, and I tell ya, the old radio really bump out that sound like it should be, I have house rockin, especially at restarts, DONGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!

    I bought my computer when they first came out, now it's time my G fizzy has alittle company, another G fizzy, most likly a dual processor when the newer models roll out and a Titanium for my road trips.

    I'll get OS X as soon as all my design apps are available for it, till then still OS 9.1

    Sorry about the long post, I haven't posted in a while, damn it feels good to be home.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Location: Location
    Posts
    147
    8600AV upgraded to a G4
    256k (Not enough)
    20 Gig HD, not enough.

    I like this config because the AV model comes with RCA inputs for vid and audio. Still have one slot left.

    I'm running a 13" monitor and a 20" monitor and a video card. I use the small monitor for tools and to keep me humble when I want to design pages that are too large.

    :-)

    Lee

  13. #13
    The Definition of... Urbansory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    702
    Has anyone ever worked on a G4 with max amount of memory installed? I wonder how it runs, I'm sure it's damn good, maybe I'll put a gig in my next CPU. Memory is cheap now, might skyrocket then, or worse change so that the current memory is invalid in future systems. I need to get my dual monitor setup together, makes work flow a breeze, slide stuff from one screen to the other., and one can be Windows gamma and the other Mac.

    Is there any truth to what i heard about a G4 not being able to reconize a internal hardrive over 30 gb? Thats what i was told, or can partitions settle this issue? I'm about to purchase 2 hardrives, an IDE internal, and a firewire external for carriying things here and there and as my scratch disk for various apps, mostly PS.

  14. #14
    Flash Wiz Wannabe
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    91
    iBook G3
    466
    128MB


  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    29

    G4

    at work:
    450 G4
    320 RAM
    50 gig HD
    DVD
    CDR/RW
    Zip 100
    20' flat multiscan monitor
    Apple Pro keyboard and mouse (which I LOVE)
    OS 9.1

    at home:
    233 Bondi Blue iMac (such a tiny monitor)
    hockey puck Mac mouse (which I don't mind at all)
    96 RAM
    6 gig HD
    CDR/RW
    Zip 100
    OS 8.6

    soon to buy:
    iBook, baby!
    Momma needs her iBook!

  16. #16
    The Definition of... Urbansory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    702
    I love my hockey puck of a mouse, I hate this little @#$ keyboard though. I'll upgrade to the new attachments later, most likly the keyboard. Is it just me or does it seem as if the puck makes designing a breeze, I have reached the point where I twist it to do curve unknowingly aware that I do it. It works great for me when it's clean.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    15

    Talking Urbansory, what you on about???

    Urbansory, i don't know where you got the idea that a G4 can't run a HD greater than 30gb... I've seen AV setup with multiple 75Gb IDE HD's, we chosed SCSI for it's speed and raidabilty.

    We don't backup really... anyway, whats the chance of two identical HD's failing at the same time??

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    15

    ADB keyboards on G4

    Originally posted by Urbansory
    I love my hockey puck of a mouse, I hate this little @#$ keyboard though. I'll upgrade to the new attachments later, most likly the keyboard. Is it just me or does it seem as if the puck makes designing a breeze, I have reached the point where I twist it to do curve unknowingly aware that I do it. It works great for me when it's clean.
    *BUMP*
    If your like me who preferes the original chuncky Apple Extended II Keyboard then may be you should invest in a USB to ADB adapter plus it works with Quark's ADB dongle. Costs about £40 plus tax

  19. #19
    The Definition of... Urbansory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    702
    Someone at MacMall told me that there is a chance anything over 40gig will not show, like 38gig or something will show. I was told this when i ordered some memory and was considering a new hard drive. For now my slow @#% Que CD-RW will do for backing up, but it is a pain if you do intense work like me. Is it just me or do 300dpi Photoshop files seem to average around 200mb, and that is not what a super production could be. A super production is a design for print where I try to create the cleanest clearest most appealing designs, they normally are over 200mb. I fill my hard drive within a week easy, a few minutes if I need to do video. UltraNEO I rather stick with the usb keyboared, bad enough I have this ugly @#% monitor making my setup look cheap.

  20. #20
    Senior Member SJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,563

    Hot diggety...

    G4 DP 450
    30GB
    384MB

    anyone else want to chat random stats???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com