A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 177

Thread: [RESOLVED] Get involved - FLASH.project.3d_(rpg)

  1. #61
    binaryhit
    Guest
    Sorry but I should have posted something about this myself, I also tried to animate the clouds and youe right it slow everything down loads. I came to the conclusion that it's because the cloads are quite big, I messed around with them and it seems that the smaller that you reduce the size of the the faster everything runs, I feel that using animation on the clouds is a bad idea.

    I have created a energy bar that was animated also and that was the same so I'm analizing a way to get animation working, I think that I know what it is, The script has a GoTo and stop command in it and I think that may be causing it, Well I'll look through it and get back to you all!

    //Gary

  2. #62
    Improved weather system...

    I added a random lightning and rain to the black and grey cloud...

    Take a look... As always suggestions are appreciatted...

    http://ceti.macam.ac.il/sebs/iso8.swf
    http://ceti.macam.ac.il/sebs/iso8.fla

    Also made this version with a lightning effect... which for me looks great but it slows the game a lot... So if it cant be done without slowing the game then I think it shouldnt go in the game...

    http://ceti.macam.ac.il/sebs/iso9.swf
    http://ceti.macam.ac.il/sebs/iso9.fla

    P.S - The zoom is cool, only I think there should zoom in bigger intervals(more than 5)...
    Also there should be a button that sets the zoom abck to original...

    Now that the weather system is stable, ill go back to texturing...
    btw I get this weekend a copy of the latest Maya(4 I think) from work so I might try to model objects...

    P.P.S - PsychoFlasher, If you get a chance this weekend or anyother time... Can you check how to move my weather system when the map rotates...
    I had a thought of making three more position Arrays with the coordinates for each angle for e.g...

    Code:
    *if cloud1 is in position:
                   cloudPos_Ang_1[1][4][x,y]
    (This is the Row No.)---^  ^
    (This is the collumn No.)--^
    
    *Then when you rotate you will set the new Position of the cloud to:
                   cloudPos_Ang_2[1][4][x,y]
    Does this make any sense? Do you think it could work?
    Please give me some Input on this(Im kind of new to serious programming).

    One last thing...
    I think for new terrain textures, We should not make any more map peices(like new type of corners, indents etc.)
    Only for special stuff like trees, Animals, etc...

    I always welcome constructive criticism, So if you want to suggest, Crit or any other thing...

    E-mail me at:
    sbedner@bezeqint.net

    One really last thing...
    I think that with the engine becoming bigger and complex we need a good writer to write a Help file That explains the Script, Mechanics, Story, Techniques, Future plans, etc...

    So others who want to help can start working faster and not need to wait for someone to post an explanation...
    Also put credits for the people already on the project...

    Give it a thought...


    Keep flashing(using flash that is)...
    [Edited by behp on 05-31-2001 at 01:57 AM]

  3. #63
    binaryhit
    Guest
    Hey Behp,

    The weather system your working on look good but I agree that the animated cloads shouldn't be used it totally stop movement of the main character!

    Secondly, I asked every one to send the name that they wanted to appear as in the credits in the last forum and no-one got back to me, So if you all want to send the name that you want to appear in the credits as then please post it!!!!

    //Gary

  4. #64
    I would like to appear as Sebastian Bender.

  5. #65
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    195
    LOL ok I designed a map peice of the grass height that has a fence on the side facing North West. I aint no 3D artist or anything but from a distance it looks OK!

    Im just practising myself, on the linkage screen in the library what do I call a new texture? The default height piece is called h_0 and the grass height piece is called h_1 so do i call the new height piece h_2?

  6. #66
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    195
    Can i appear as Dan Milner please. Ta. Binary, have you continued on from the sword sequence because everyone I have shown has been drooling at it!

  7. #67
    binaryhit
    Guest
    I don't know which was the last one you saw the file is http://binaryhit.com/rpg/enchantment.html

    If you want to check it out!!!

    //Gary


    P.S. I made a reset button and increased increment to 10!!!


  8. #68
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    195
    A couple of things I'd like to clear up.

    a) Any chance of combining the zoom function with the current weather system?

    b) When you zoom in, the weather doesnt zoom in either. You end up with tiny clouds on a huge level!

    c) Im gathering that eventually, that generate clouds button will go as it is just to show off what the generator can do?

    d) I jet off on holiday on Sunday night. Bummer I know but its been booked ages and Im looking forwards to a well earned break! I will of course try to keep relatively up to date when I locate an internet cafe.......if......hmmmmm

    e) I still don't get the texture mapping thing - am I think? Sure I have created some pratise ones but I can't add them into the movie when you test it. I know HOW to number them but "how" are they numbered and then how do I refer to them in the array in actions?
    Say I create a new "height" texture (the block that raises the land by one whole square). Would I name it H_2 (2 being the new texture) and then how do I refer to it in the actual game?

  9. #69
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    195
    ignore the last section of above, i am stupid, ive cracked it.

  10. #70
    binaryhit
    Guest
    You link it, using linkage in the library, then you simply change the "type" array! to the type you have created.

    Gary

  11. #71
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    195
    ok its getting along great. however are we using the version where the map follows the block, or are we using the one where the map is always centered?

    coming along great.

    how can we get all our textures together into one .fla and into the same texture generator. thats the main aim surely, and is it just psychoflasher who can program the texture generator (map builder thingy?)

  12. #72
    binaryhit
    Guest
    I have a copy of the map generator but rather everyone start putting textures in it so there loads of versions with textures, if everyone sends me textures they have done then I will work on linking everything up! This will save having loads of versions that I have to mess around with.

    Also We are using the map that stays centered as if makes everything faster!

    //gary

    I will post the laterst version with the reset in 5 mins you can see it at:

    http://binaryhit.com/rpg/iso6.html

    Gary

  13. #73
    binaryhit
    Guest
    Hey guys I linked up the weather system you can check it at:

    http://binaryhit.com/rpg/iso6.html

    Tell me what you all think!!!

    //Gary

  14. #74
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    13
    shouldn't the clouds move to another position when you rotate the map?

  15. #75
    binaryhit
    Guest
    I'm working on that and the scaling!!!

    //Gary

  16. #76
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    195
    ok 2 things.

    a) im not sure about the animated spinning life meter....i duno if you lot agree with me but i think the spinning could get annoying and distracts from the actual game. Perhaps static ones would be better???

    b) Can I have a go at doing the textures for the shops? EG. I wont do any outside textures leave that to binary and behp? Ill use the basic textures and adapt them with like stone flooring and wooden counters?

    Tell me what you want to appear in the shops and I will put it in. Also if i just do the shops then it means we aint interfering and overlapping with each others work!

    What do you think. Seeing the 2 buildings at the first arcadia place it seems to me to be a good idea, but you decide.....

    Regards, Dr_Funfrock!

  17. #77
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    122
    Is it just me or has the text got really big!!!!

  18. #78
    binaryhit
    Guest
    What text?

    P.S. What is your site all about? lol

  19. #79
    Anyone who is adding stuff please use the latest version of the weather system...

    http://ceti.macam.ac.il/sebs/iso8.fla
    http://ceti.macam.ac.il/sebs/iso8.swf



  20. #80
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    195
    I was fiddling making some textures and I tried making a muddy ground one and that was successful EXCEPT for some reason, when they tile there are tiny white spaces in between. Have a look http://www.funfrock.net/users/dan/rpg/textures.fla or http://www.funfrock.net/users/dan/rpg/textures.swf and can someone tell me why? I think it is because I havent got it exactly 100x100 but its very hard......im using paint shop pro 6 and not fireworks. is this my problem?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center