A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: help, I can't create a pullout menu

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    272
    I need to make a menu.

    first, there's only an icon visible. On MouseOver, the menu appears. It sort of slides out horizontally.

    My problem is, when I move the mouse to the menu items, the menu disappears again (because of the OnMouseOut of the icon).

    I've searched flashkit movies and tuts and all, but I just can't seem to be able to get my menu working.

    Anyone want to look at the work in progress, check out http://www.art2net.at/start.asp

    The Art2Net Logo is the icon i mentioned.

    Thanks guys and gals.

    ciao,
    Daniel


  2. #2
    Why don't you make the hit area of the button larger? This way the buttons will stay on. The area could cover the other buttons. You could also use a clip if the buttons interfere with each other. Use the OnMouseMove event for the same efect.




  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    272

    nice footer !

    well, if I make the hit area larger, the menu would slide out even if you don't move the mouse over the logo.

    What is the "clip" you were talking about ?

    Is there a really simple .fla somewhere that could help me out ?

    Thanks for the quick reply

  4. #4
    Senior Member flipsideguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    834
    D-meister
    don't put a "on rollout" on the button that slides it out. Instead, make a large invisible button under the menu, and put a on rollover on that that closes the menu. There are many fla's on this all over the place. you might want to check the movies section.

  5. #5
    Ok, here's an idea:

    Why don't you make a movie clip that starts measuring the _xmouse and _ymouse when the mouse passes over the logo. This way, when the mouse leaves a certain area that you specify, then the menu disappears.

    button:

    onmouseover{

    show buttons;
    _root.MC.gotoAndPlay(2);

    }


    in the frames of MC:

    frame1:
    stop();


    frame2:
    if (_root._xmouse>maximum || _root._xmouse<minimum){

    hide buttons;
    gotoAndStop(1);

    }

    else if (_root._ymouse>maximum || _root._ymouse<minimum){

    hide buttons;
    gotoAndStop(1);

    }

    frame3:

    gotoAndPlay(2);



    This way the MC checks where the mouse is and when it leaves the area you specify by the minimum and maximum of both the y and x coordinates he buttons are hidden.


    You can find good examples of menus at:

    http://www.ultrashock.com
    and
    http://www.were-here.com

    goodluck

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    272

    oh, I get it !!

    I'll get right to it !

    Thanks.

    wskanaan ... what kind of a name is that ?

    how do you like the menu ? Something's missing, but I can't put my finger on it. Any ideas ?

    Hasta lavista, babies

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    272

    hmm

    well, i tried the invisible button thing.

    Now, when I move the mouse over a button, that's on top of the invisible button, the entire thing fades out again.

    I use goto frame 1 (that's the frame where only the logo is visible).

    I checked out the code wskaanan fixed up for me, but I don't get it. How do I do "show buttons" and "hide buttons" ?
    With goto frame ?

    I think I'll go check out some fla's

    thanks for trying guys.

    daniel

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    128

    Exclamation gottcha covered

    heres a great tutorial on that -- good luck
    ive made one and did it the first time you can too

    http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/01/10/index4a.html

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    272

    aha !

    Looks like some good instructions !

    I'll give it a try.

    Thanks gogon.


  10. #10
    Well, show and hide buttons is the way you did them with the buttons. I don't know how you did it.

    The MC just loops and checks where the mouse is. When the mouse is out of a certain area it fades the buttons. Again, show buttons and hide buttons depends on how you did it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center