mulitple POSTs with MAC IE5
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: mulitple POSTs with MAC IE5

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    4
    HELP!!!
    I am trying to send variables to an ASP page useing loadVariables and POST. Everything works fine on the PC, and the MAC if I use GET or if I use GetURL. However, I dont want to open a new window when I send the data, and the amount of data I want to send could potentially be quite large, thus the need for LoadVariables and POST. The problem is that I need to send data several times - the first POST always works, but the second POST seems to hang the browser, the third will sometimes work.

    Has anyone seen something similar, and more importantly, know a fix?

    TIA.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    London
    Posts
    961
    Do you have to use POST or could you use a query string:

    loadVariablesNum ("aspfile.asp?var1=value1&var2=value2", 0);

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    4

    thanks but...

    What you are suggesting is a manual way of doing GET. I need to use POST because of the potentially large amount of data I will be sending.

    Thanks for your reply.

  4. #4
    juggernart me2222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    1,322
    Hi mroven,
    your problem is definately a BUG with Flash and IE5.0 on Mac.
    I encountered this problem long time ago with Flash4 and also some time ago with Flash5.
    You can read more about it at this thread:
    http://board.flashkit.com/board/show...hreadid=132302

    There is also a link to a test swf, but the link currently doesnŽt work because my provider has some problems. IŽll let you know when the testlink works again.

    There seem to be two workarounds for this bug:
    first one is using GET as you also discovered,
    and the second one is waiting some time before doing the next POST.
    In my testings I found out that there are about 20 seconds needed to make the next POST work... very strange


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    4

    Smile Thanks

    Thanks for the info! It is most helpful!
    -mr oven

  6. #6
    juggernart me2222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    1,322
    Hi mroven,
    the test swf is working again (had to modify the skorekeeper cgi).
    see it at http://www.neuemedienkunst.de/test/sk_test.html

    Cheers
    Markus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com