dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Cool, I made my first swift 3d file, please take a look.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    114
    I just bought swift 3d yesterday. I have never worked with a 3d program before so I though it was pretty good, and you can't beat that price. Well I saw a post about a hole in a cube, so I decided to try it. I think it came out ok. But its not perfected because it's my first ever swift 3d file.
    If the swf below does not work, please go to:

    http://www.bulletfast.com/3dcube.html

    Hope you like it,

    [swf width="640" height="480" background="#FFDDBB"]http://www.bulletfast.com/3dcube.swf[/swf]


    Thanks,
    Dan

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    724
    And how big is a file like that?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    322
    Just checked my temp files and it's 48K.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    2

    Smile nice job

    I've only tried it once and have yet to be able to figure it out..... I think I am too used to 3D max.
    Did you do the frames in Swift as well or export them as a flash file?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    114

    Re: nice job

    I made the one side in flash and exported it out to swift. Then I turned everything around, and put it together in swift and and exported it back out to flash for the final product.

  6. #6
    Visualize whirled peas. VacMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    593
    Originally posted by bulletfast
    Would I be correct in assuming that you have two different light sources?


  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    114
    Yup , one to the right and one to the left

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Desert Southwest
    Posts
    367
    Originally posted by bulletfast
    Yup , one to the right and one to the left
    I am new to Swift 3d and am curious, how did you create the cube with the holes in it. Did you make it in swift or import the image into swift (if you can do that).

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    114
    Well...
    I made a box in flash, then I made a circle in flash. I then broke apart the box using ctrl-b, then I grouped the circle using crtl-g. I then positioned the circle in the center of the box till it looked right, then broke apart the circle. Then I made sure nothing was selected, then I clicked in the center of the circle in the box and deleted it. That left me with a box which had a circle hole in it. Then I exported that box with the circle hole out as an ai 6.0 file. I then imported it into swift. Once it was in swift I copied it 5 times with left me with a total of six of them. I then assembled them in swift to look like a cube. I then grouped them up colored them and rotated the entire cube to get the effect that you see above.

    Once I get some time I might write up a more detailed tutorial and slap it up here on flash kit.
    Hope that helps,
    Dan
    [Edited by bulletfast on 08-08-2001 at 11:56 AM]

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Desert Southwest
    Posts
    367
    Originally posted by bulletfast
    Well...
    ......Once I get some time I might write up a more detailed tutorial and slap it up here on flash kit.
    Hope that helps,
    Dan
    [Edited by bulletfast on 08-08-2001 at 11:56 AM]
    Thanks, I think that I am following you. Could I use a program like photoshop to make the cube?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    114
    It needs to be a vector image.

    I have created one in flash for you:

    http://www.bulletfast.com/box.ai

    Download that, then import it directly into swift 3d.

    Hope that helps,
    Dan

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Desert Southwest
    Posts
    367
    Thanks. Not sure what file type this is as it says it is box.ai (illustrator ?) yet when downloaded it reads box.ps.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    6
    Nutty. Same thing happened to me. Do a right click_save as, and save it as box.ai
    Imports fine after that.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    114
    I guess it's just becuase an ai file is a post script file. That could be where the 'ps' is coming from.
    My two cents,

    Dan

  15. #15
    Large Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    193
    i'm just a beginner in 3ds, but couldn't you just create a square and a cylinder and used boolean functions to make the hole?

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    74
    Jookbox, thats assuming you *have* 3ds :-)

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    114
    One day I'll go out and buy 3ds but untill then I'll just stick with my swift 3d.

  18. #18
    Senior Member CrashedStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    197
    ok, just tried that... but didnt quite work

    can someone help explain it again for me - i'm using swift 3d ver 2 - i have the ai file

    i import to swift, copy... move where? - arange left/right/top/side how? - group and rotate?

    aghhhhhhhh....... prob really simple when i figure it out

    cheers

    cs

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    114
    Just take the box with the hole in it and copy it so you end up with 6 total. Then construct a box my moving each one around, it would be much easier if I would give you the coordinates for each one but I don't have the time at the moment. If you need me to explain in further detail just ask.
    Hope that helps,
    Dan

  20. #20
    Senior Member CrashedStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    197
    erm... i could figure out the 'front' face and the back one... but couldnt work out how to rotate it to the sides/top

    :s - cheers

    cs feels stupid

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center