my flash will not work in Netscape
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: my flash will not work in Netscape

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Angry

    Good day to you all

    I was wondering if there was any special setting to get flash to work in Netscape.
    I tried testing it in Netscape 4.72 and all I get is a white box where the flash movie is suppose to be…
    I can view other flash sites…

    Oh yeah you guys kick ass…

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    195

    Post

    Hmm.. must be a problem with your HTML code. If you could show me the code you are using, perhaps I could be of more help..


    <EMBED src="/cgi-bin/ubb/Members/sigs/00000205.swf" quality=high WIDTH=500 HEIGHT=50 TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"> </EMBED>

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Post

    alright here you go

    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>VARIFLEX</TITLE>
    </HEAD>
    <BODY bgcolor="black">
    < !-- URL's used in the movie-->
    < !-- text used in the movie-->
    < !-- --><OBJECT classid="clsid 27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
    codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=4,0,0,0"
    ID=joe's logo4 WIDTH=100% HEIGHT=100%>
    <PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="variflex.swf"> <PARAM NAME=loop VALUE=false> <PARAM NAME=menu VALUE=false> <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high> <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#FFFFFF> <PARAM NAME="SCALE" VALUE="showall"> <EMBED src="joe's logo4.swf" loop=false menu=false quality=high bgcolor=#FFFFFF WIDTH=100% HEIGHT=100% SCALE="SHOWALL" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"></EMBED>
    </OBJECT>
    </BODY>
    </HTML>


    thanks for all the help

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Post

    oh **** sorry

    <pre>
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>VARIFLEX</TITLE>
    </HEAD>
    <BODY bgcolor="black">
    < !-- URL's used in the movie-->
    < !-- text used in the movie-->
    < !-- --><OBJECT classid="clsid 27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
    codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=4,0,0,0"
    ID=joe's logo4 WIDTH=100% HEIGHT=100%>
    <PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="variflex.swf"> <PARAM NAME=loop VALUE=false> <PARAM NAME=menu VALUE=false> <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high> <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#FFFFFF> <PARAM NAME="SCALE" VALUE="showall"> <EMBED src="joe's logo4.swf" loop=false menu=false quality=high bgcolor=#FFFFFF WIDTH=100% HEIGHT=100% SCALE="SHOWALL" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"></EMBED>
    </OBJECT>
    </BODY>
    </HTML>
    </pre>

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Post

    lets see if this works

    &#60;HTML&#62;
    &#60;HEAD&#62;
    &#60;TITLE&#62;VARIFLEX&#60;/TITLE&#62;
    &#60;/HEAD&#62;
    &#60;BODY bgcolor="black"&#62;
    &#60;!-- URL's used in the movie--&#62;
    &#60;!-- text used in the movie--&#62;
    &#60;!-- --&#62;&#60;OBJECT classid="clsid 27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
    codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=4,0,0,0"
    ID=joe's logo4 WIDTH=100% HEIGHT=100%&#62;
    &#60;PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="variflex.swf"&#62; &#60;PARAM NAME=loop VALUE=false&#62; &#60;PARAM NAME=menu VALUE=false&#62; &#60;PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high&#62; &#60;PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#FFFFFF&#62; &#60;PARAM NAME="SCALE" VALUE="showall"&#62; &#60;EMBED src="joe's logo4.swf" loop=false menu=false quality=high bgcolor=#FFFFFF WIDTH=100% HEIGHT=100% SCALE="SHOWALL" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"&#60;&#62 ;/EMBED&#62;
    &#60;/OBJECT&#62;
    &#60;/BODY&#62;
    &#60;/HTML&#62;

  6. #6

    Lightbulb

    Try:

    - Changing ID=joe's logo4 in the &lt;OBJECT&gt; tag to: ID="joe's logo4"

    - Fixing the ...ckwaveFlash"&lt;&gt;/EMBED&gt; to ...ckwaveFlash"&gt;&lt;/EMBED&gt;

    BTW (to anyone): what does the SCALE=showall parameter do?

    -- Leto


    [This message has been edited by Leto (edited 15 March 2000).]

    [This message has been edited by Leto (edited 15 March 2000).]

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    195

    Lightbulb

    &lt;HTML&gt;
    &lt;HEAD&gt;
    &lt;TITLE&gt;VARIFLEX&lt;/TITLE&gt;
    &lt;/HEAD&gt;
    &lt;BODY bgcolor="black"&gt;
    &lt;!-- URL's used in the movie--&gt;
    &lt;!-- text used in the movie--&gt;
    &lt;!-- --&gt;&lt;OBJECT classid="clsid 27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
    codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=4,0,0,0"
    <font color="#0000FF">ID=joe's logo4</font> WIDTH=100% HEIGHT=100%&gt;
    &lt;PARAM NAME=movie <font color="#FF0000">VALUE="variflex.swf"</font>&gt; &lt;PARAM NAME=loop VALUE=false&gt; &lt;PARAM NAME=menu VALUE=false&gt; &lt;PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high&gt; &lt;PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#FFFFFF&gt; &lt;PARAM NAME="SCALE" VALUE="showall"&gt; &lt;EMBED <font color="#FF0000">src="joe's logo4.swf"</font> loop=false menu=false quality=high bgcolor=#FFFFFF WIDTH=100% HEIGHT=100% SCALE="SHOWALL" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"&lt;&gt;/EMBED&gt;
    &lt;/OBJECT&gt;
    &lt;/BODY&gt;
    &lt;/HTML&gt;


    Blue - I'd suggest changing that to "joeslogo4". It's generally a good idea when designing for the 'Net to avoid spaces and special characters whenever possible.

    Red - These two paramaters should be the same! Your code here is contradicting itself, as it is pointing to 2 different movies. If your SWF file is called "variflex.swf", then that's fine, just change the other name to match it. If your SWF is called "joe's logo4.swf" then I suggest renaming it to something like "joeslogo4.swf" and changing both names to match.

    <hr>

    Oh, and Leto, the SCALE option determines how the movie is scaled within the Flash player. There are 3 options: "showall", "noborder" and "exactfit".

    When set to "showall" the aspect ratio of the movie is preserved, but there may be borders around the movie.

    When set to "noborder" the aspect ratio is still preserved, and there are no borders, but the movie may be cropped.

    When set to "exactfit" there are no borders, and no cropping occurs, but the aspect ratio of the movie is not preserved. It is sized to fit the Flash player exactly.


    The default setting is "showall". So if you do not specify which SCALE setting to use, Flash will default to "showall".

    Note: Those settings determing how the movie fits within the Flash plugin, NOT the browser window.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Post

    thank you so much
    you kick ass
    it was the space and the '
    now it works like a charm
    thanks again

  9. #9

    Wink

    The &lt;&gt;/EMBED&gt; should still be fixed too Good coding practice!

    <EMBED src="/cgi-bin/ubb/Members/sigs/00000302.swf" quality=high WIDTH=400 HEIGHT=80 TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"> </EMBED>

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Post

    thank you Leto
    but that was just a mess up writing it to the message board
    the code it fine in the html

    thanks though

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com