dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can I open windows media player from a command in flash and how?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Branny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Manchester/UK
    Posts
    512
    I have a CD with an MPEG video on I want to creat a menu to run the mpeg but it needs to be through a media player like windows media player or quicktime or something.

  2. #2
    Arckid - Curving the Web
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,412
    hi there ...

    1st try this ...

    fsCommand("exec","yourfile.mpg")

    it should open the file with assosiated player of .mpg files ..

  3. #3
    Senior Member Branny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Manchester/UK
    Posts
    512
    I've already tried that the fscommand only seems to apply to files concerned with the extentions exe and bat, there should be a way around it cause there is when opening a text document in notepad, I know the code for that but it can't be the same for an mpeg

  4. #4
    Arckid - Curving the Web
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,412
    hi dear ...

    its not like that ... if u not associated any program with .mpg extension files then it will do what u said ... but generally they are assigned with media player or whatever player using by the end-user ...

    also try this one for ur case ...

    fsCommand("exec","mplayer2 yourfile.mpg");

    let me know that which version of windows u using ?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    666
    Here's the Alternative Method..
    http://flashtools.net/tutorials/ftoo...ve_methods.htm

    The other choice is to use 3rd party tools..

  6. #6
    Senior Member Branny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Manchester/UK
    Posts
    512
    Cheers for your help I tried it but i still had no joy so I created a batch file and called it from there. it worked!!! thanks anyway.

    by the way i'm using Windows ME

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    666
    Yah you probally also need to read this.. (to code directly for command line)
    http://flashtools.net/tutorials/coding_in_flash.htm

    But either way .bat or direct command line calls.. you will still have that 1 second DOS/Command Line window.. the only option past that is 3rd party tools..

  8. #8
    Arckid - Curving the Web
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,412
    hi master ...

    really nice tutorial ...

    it must helpful to the thread starter ....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center