positioning loaded movie
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: positioning loaded movie

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    213
    i still dont understand how it works, positioning a .swf that is loaded using the load movie command somebody care to explain a little on this? hehehehehe


  2. #2
    Swiftdev Founder 98svt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan
    Posts
    2,139
    When you load a movie, it will be in the upper left hand corner. If you make your "loaded movie" the same size as the swf it's loaded into, it will be correct. In other words, if you want to load a small box with text in the lower right hand corner, make the movie the same height and width as the movie it's loading into, and place the text box in it exactly where you want it to show up in the movie it's being loaded into. I probably confused the hell out of you, but you'll see what I mean when you try it.

    -Mike

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    213
    yo,

    i think i understand what u mean, thats like if i have a 600w 350h movie, and i want a little box at the right hand bottom, i'd make another 600w 350h movie and position the box where i want it to be, and then use the load movie command, right?

    i'll give it a try later (need some sleep now, 4am here )

    i read about that in anothetr thread but didnt quite understand it, thanks for making it clear.


  4. #4
    Chief of Molecules wcoleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,975
    You can position a loaded movie anywhere you wish if you load it into a sprite at level -1. At http://www.wellesley.edu/Chemistry/cs.swf I have loaded the same movie twice. Once (the left C) it was loaded into level 10 so it is at the upper left of the movie and the second time into a sprite whose position I set.

    Cheers,

    Flick


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    213
    that sprite method doesnt work

  6. #6
    The Flash Wolf deltawolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    834
    Sprite should work..but make the movie the same as what your loading it into then you move around what you want in the movie you are loading.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    213
    can u post a working .swi?

  8. #8
    The Flash Wolf deltawolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    834
    Sure! one moment

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    213
    the loaded.zip did not use any sprites..

  11. #11
    The Flash Wolf deltawolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    834
    I know i just gave u an example of how to chnage tne poss. of a loaded movie

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    213
    is that the same way to change the pos of a loaded movie for the sprites method
    ?

  13. #13
    The Flash Wolf deltawolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    834
    No the way without sprite
    [Edited by deltawolf on 09-08-2001 at 02:58 AM]

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    183
    Originally posted by wcoleman
    You can position a loaded movie anywhere you wish if you load it into a sprite at level -1. At http://www.wellesley.edu/Chemistry/cs.swf I have loaded the same movie twice. Once (the left C) it was loaded into level 10 so it is at the upper left of the movie and the second time into a sprite whose position I set.

    Cheers,

    Flick

    Hello Flick:
    Can you explain a little more how position a movie(load movie) into a sprite? please
    Thank´s

  15. #15
    Chief of Molecules wcoleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,975
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by bird
    Hello Flick:
    Can you explain a little more how position a movie(load movie) into a sprite? please
    Thank´s
    Bird,

    Look at http://www.wellesley.edu/Chemistry/F...molecules.html and http://www.wellesley.edu/Chemistry/F...dmolecules.swi

    The image in the upper left is a movie loaded into level 10 (and unloaded when the second version starts). To get the other movie loaded I inserted a sprite and then used a load movie action in that sprite to put the movie into level -1, and then positioned the sprite where I wanted it.

    Hope this is clear,

    Flick


  16. #16
    Chief of Molecules wcoleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,975
    I should have pointed out that since each sprite is a mini-movie, it has its own level -1, so you can load movies into many sprites and position them as in http://www.wellesley.edu/Chemistry/F...olecules2.html

    Peace,

    Flick

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    183
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by wcoleman
    Originally posted by bird
    Hello Flick:
    Can you explain a little more how position a movie(load movie) into a sprite? please
    Thank´s
    Bird,

    Look at http://www.wellesley.edu/Chemistry/F...molecules.html and http://www.wellesley.edu/Chemistry/F...dmolecules.swi

    The image in the upper left is a movie loaded into level 10 (and unloaded when the second version starts). To get the other movie loaded I inserted a sprite and then used a load movie action in that sprite to put the movie into level -1, and then positioned the sprite where I wanted it.

    Hope this is clear,

    Flick
    Hello Flick:
    Link doesen´t work

  18. #18
    Chief of Molecules wcoleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    3,975
    Bird,

    Give it another shot - I had forgotten to include the swi in a set of files I transferred at the same time.

    Sorry about that.

    Peace,

    Flick

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    183
    Originally posted by wcoleman
    Bird,

    Give it another shot - I had forgotten to include the swi in a set of files I transferred at the same time.

    Sorry about that.

    Peace,

    Flick
    That´s right.
    Thank´s Flick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center