A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: quick help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    23
    ok, lets say i have a button, and when you click on the button i want a text box to say whatever is in a text file, is this possible using actions?

  2. #2
    Where have I been ??
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    305

    Hmm...

    Hmm... let me try...

    Code:
    On (Release)
    LoadVariablesNum("external.txt" , dynamic_text_var_name)
    Just give your Dynamic Text box a Variable Name. And that should do it

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    23

    i tried that

    yeah, thats what i thought at first, but when i do that, it opens a new explorer window with the file in it... for example i want to load text.txt, and the contents is "checking to see if it works" instead of putting it into the text box (main_text) it just opens a new window of text.txt

  4. #4
    Where have I been ??
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    305

    Hmm.

    Have you tried putting the Button in a MC.
    Also, make sure you have it as _self... not _blank

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    23

    ??

    sorry, im very new to flash, what do you mean by MC and have what as _self, and _blank

  6. #6
    Where have I been ??
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    305

    Let me try something..

    Let me see if I can recreate what is happening to you.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    23

    ok...

    i have a button and a multiline dynamic text box with html and wordwrap named atlantis, and in the button i have this

    on(release){
    loadVariablesNum ("test.txt", atlantis);
    }

    the test.txt is in the same folder as the project file, and it will load it into a new window.... thanks a lot for the help, there arent too many people who will actually help people step by step

  8. #8
    Where have I been ??
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    305

    Okay...

    This is what I did...
    Made a Button.
    Put it on the Main Movie.
    The scripting i added to the button is:
    Code:
    on (release) {
        loadVariables ("textfile.txt", output);
    }
    Then I made a dynamic text box with a variable name of "output"

    Then... I made my external file named textfile.txt with the following writtin in it:
    Code:
    output="qui4HFIUHF4H8IUQA8UHFAQIU4F5IUN4FNIU;FA54NIU;5IUN54"
    Then Poof. Thats All there is. Just make sure the SWF and the TEXT file are in the same directory.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    23

    got it to work, but...

    i got it to work, the problem was it had the html checked, so that is what makes it not work, what if i wanted html, then what would i put in the text file output=??

  10. #10
    Where have I been ??
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    305

    I dont Know !!!

    I am not really sure. From my understanding, having HTML checked means that you can have HTML in there. I think you just use it the same way. If not, I dont know.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    23

    yeah

    yeah, thats what i thought too, but go to your example you made and check the html, then try it, it doesnt work

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center