dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: basic flash help needed

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    30
    http://www.flashkit.com/tutorials/Ge...11/more3.shtml

    with regard to the above website, it was stated that the circle instance should be placed in layer 1 which is a guide layer. how an that be? Guide layers do not appear in a published Flash Player movie, isnt it?

    when i try to insert keyframes, my stage becomes blank and i was not able to move my instance along the square. why?

    i really appreciate some help. thanks




    [Edited by missingyou on 12-28-2001 at 05:56 AM]

  2. #2
    flashdevil
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    665
    On guidelayers you place lines wich the layer beneath it follows that line. Like this:

    You place a line, in the guidelayer

    you make an instance of a circle, you place the circle on the layer beneath it, you place the circle on one of the ends of the line

    Make a keyframe in lets say frame 10, move the circle to the other end of the line and make a motion tween, now the circle will follow the pad of the line as he goes from one end to the other.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    30
    let's say i have 2 layers of which layer 1 is a guide layer.
    should i then place an instance of the circle in layer 1(guide layer) or layer 2?

    i choose to put it in layer 2 coz anything in the guide layer will not be in the final movie rite?

    after which i make frame 5 of layer 2 a keyframe. however the square outline disappears and im not able to move the circle instance from one of its corner to the other?

    what have i done wrong?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    10

    Smile

    Originally posted by missingyou
    let's say i have 2 layers of which layer 1 is a guide layer.
    should i then place an instance of the circle in layer 1(guide layer) or layer 2?

    i choose to put it in layer 2 coz anything in the guide layer will not be in the final movie rite?

    after which i make frame 5 of layer 2 a keyframe. however the square outline disappears and im not able to move the circle instance from one of its corner to the other?

    what have i done wrong?
    try swish...

  5. #5
    flashdevil
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    665
    Originally posted by missingyou
    let's say i have 2 layers of which layer 1 is a guide layer.
    should i then place an instance of the circle in layer 1(guide layer) or layer 2?

    i choose to put it in layer 2 coz anything in the guide layer will not be in the final movie rite?

    after which i make frame 5 of layer 2 a keyframe. however the square outline disappears and im not able to move the circle instance from one of its corner to the other?

    what have i done wrong?
    I really dont get you, maybe you should read the tutorial again? Sorry, i just cant see what you are doing.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    30
    Originally posted by fifkikker
    Originally posted by missingyou
    let's say i have 2 layers of which layer 1 is a guide layer.
    should i then place an instance of the circle in layer 1(guide layer) or layer 2?

    i choose to put it in layer 2 coz anything in the guide layer will not be in the final movie rite?

    after which i make frame 5 of layer 2 a keyframe. however the square outline disappears and im not able to move the circle instance from one of its corner to the other?

    what have i done wrong?
    I really dont get you, maybe you should read the tutorial again? Sorry, i just cant see what you are doing.
    ok, i try to rephrase my questions.

    what i have done:
    layer1: guide layer with square border
    circle symbol
    layer2: blank

    aim: to simulate the circle moving along the path of the square

    qn: shld i put the instance of the circle in layer1(guide layer) or layer2?
    as stated in the tutorial, i have to create keyframes at frames5,10,15,20 of layer2. however when i start creating a keyframe at frame5, the stage becomes empty. how then do i follow the instructions in the tutorial to "move the circle instance along the path of the square"?

  7. #7
    flashdevil
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    665
    Place it in layer2, make sure that there is a keyframe in the first frame with the circle in it. Then make (with F6) new frames.

    Maybe you should start over, to begin with a blank stage again.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    10
    Hello missingyou,
    A time ago me too I was sweating and studying flash and at the end you throw your books out of the window and try.....
    or you try to make things easier. So I tried swish - with
    satisfaction. It's cheap, it may not do what flash does
    but why all trouble?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center