A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A little help with paths please :)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    14
    I am having trouble loading a text file into a MC. Here's the scenario...

    SCENE1 has a MC called MENUS. Within MENUS, a button calls a TellTarget MC called TEXT also on the main timeline. Within TEXT a frame contains a MC called SERVICES. In SERVICES there is a dynamic textbox with variable called "text" pulled from the text file "services.txt". I use the onClipEvent to call the text file to load when the SERVICES MC loads. I cannot get the text to load. I'm not good at paths, and I know the structure of this is a little involved, but it has to be that way to work in my movie. Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Banned indivision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    474
    try setting up a loop that waits for the text values to load instead of using the onclipevent command.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    14
    Hello and thanks...

    What I mean is the text doesn't load, period. I'm sure it's a path problem because some other text files load OK in other areas of the movie...

  4. #4
    Banned indivision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    474
    Do you load the text into the target clip?

    Maybe if you post some of the actionscript we can see something in it.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    14
    Hi, here's how it is now..

    onClipEvent (load) {
    loadVariablesNum ("services.txt", 0);
    }

    This script is on the MC SERVICES object action. MC SERVICES is in the MC TEXT in SCENE1 on the main timeline. I've also tried:

    onClipEvent (load) {
    this.loadVariables ("services.txt");
    }

    Are you saying it should be:

    onClipEvent (load) {
    _root.text.services.loadVariablesNum ("services.txt", 0);
    }

    ???

  6. #6
    Banned indivision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    474
    no. im saying it should be:

    loadVariablesNum ("services.txt", _root.text.services);

    that is, assuming the text box is in the mc _root.text.services

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    14
    Tried, no go... it wants to open a browser window to find "news.txt". I really don't know why it's not working. Thanks for your help...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center