dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: The deal with Flash.

Just have to air this one out, because it's something I've been thinking about a lot since I've decided to remake my own portfolio in Flash. I've been doing designs since 5 years back, totally self-taught as well...

Anyway. I've been working a lot with DHTML for a while as well. Even though you can create neat interfaces and animation with DHTML they are still far from perfect, and you probably will want to use a DOM compilant browser, meaning that NS 4.x is out the window as well as most other browser than IE and NS 6.

The main thing with Flash though is that you have the freedom and ability to integrate animation and sound with vector based graphics and you can even scale down bitmaps very effectively, creating amazing sites and interfaces that takes very time to load.

Also Flash is a master example of real preloading. Most JavaScript preloading scripts acctually doubles the loading time due to the slow animation and execution time.

But still there are many, experienced Flash Authors who seem to forget these facts. The create stale and dull Interfaces in gray and white. They skip the music and keep themself with rigid soundeffects. They think it will look more serious and impressive if done in Flash.

Baah, humbug. If you are supposed to use Flash, you should use it too! I have seen many sites that would look twice as good and impressive with DHTML or even regular HTML.

What Flash Designers in general never take in accountance is that the user doesn't really care what technique is used as long as it loads fast and works for them.

What I'm trying to say here is if Flash is so great, why not use it to it's limit? Or at least use it as it's meant to be used, not just as yet another drag n' drop website creator...

Why not take Flash to it's limit?