dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Button in a movieclip won't goto main timeline?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    26
    Frustrated as all heck. Is this a bug or am I an idiot?
    I have created a button that is one on many in a movie clip, I want it to go to a particular frame labelled on the main timeline.

    on (release) {
    gotoAndStop("Scene 1", "joel");
    }

    The frame is labelled, the scene name is correct, the button is being hit, but it won't go there, any suggestions why?

    get the fla here to see the problem (113k)
    http://www.ezpc.com.au/projects/site.fla

    Try the Intro button (The Pupil).

    Thanks for your help in advance.

  2. #2
    President, save the
    New Zealand dollar foundation

    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    1,743
    oh that old "bug"

    it's not a bug,
    Flash has behaved this way since version four.

    the easiest solution, and one to always remember when creating movies with scenes,
    is to never use them...
    just kidding

    seriously,
    what you need to do is apply labels to any main timeline frames that you want to target.
    when inside a movieclip you can't target scene names,
    so label your keyframes, and simply use

    Code:
    on ( release ) [
         _root.gotoAndPlay("labelName");
    }

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    26

    Thanks sonwah!

    That fixed it, you guys are great!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    33

    button in movieclip wont go to scene

    I've been having the same problem and tried the solution suggested, but it still wont work. HELP!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    26

    Post your fla

    Then we can see what's happening.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    33

    button problem

    I managed to get it working. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1

    Re: button in movieclip wont go to scene

    Originally posted by sarahmarie
    I've been having the same problem and tried the solution suggested, but it still wont work. HELP!
    probably because there is a mistake in the code the bracket [ should be a brace bracket {

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center