A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: -HELP WITH MOVIES-

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    10
    Hmm, i need help with optimizing my movies. How do you do it? I mean my movie is this 3 second that loops alot, and it takes forever to load!! And i see other peoples sites with flash intros, and theirs automatically loads on my computer. So please anyone help me with this problem, i'd really appreciate it...thanx very much.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    701
    Not sure what you mean about the 3 second movie that loops a lot. Do you want it do that or you can't figure out how to stop it. And why is it only 3 seconds long? That is a pretty short movie.
    Do you have a lot of large pictures on your site? That might be the cause of the slow loading. If that is the case you might need a preloader. The preloader will load the entire movie before it begins showing. There are plenty of preloader tutorials in flashkit. Just do a search for them.

    let me know a little more and maybe we can figure out the problem.

    Hope that helps

    Taz

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    875
    A preloader for a 3sec movie? Not worth it. Your visitors won't come back.

    Check out your library for any junk you can get shot of.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    10
    Oh, lol, obviously u guys got the wrong idea....sorry for my bad explanation. The 3 second thing is not a movie, its actually like sort of a banner, but not on the top of the window. And yes, i do want it to be about 3 seconds long cuz it doesnt really do much...its just there for a brief message. So, i just want to know how to make it load fast? Like when my friends visit my page, i ask them if they see my "banner" and they say, "No...the movie wont finish loading." So I just wanna know how to make it come on fast? And uh, no Taz, i dont have alot of images...actually none. K, hope this explanation is better...thanks dudes.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    351
    If it's a 3 sec loop with no images, there's no way it will be more than a few KB's. It should load almost instantly. You'll probably find your problem lies in the code you've used to embed the swf into the HTML. Post the URL and I'll take a look at the code for you....

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    10
    Ok, thanks man...ok, but please no one make fun of my site, lol, cuz it really sucks now...but here, and thanks again.

    http://geocities.com/punkrawkalien/homepage.html

  7. #7
    My PitBull Bites Me! eag16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    250
    download or buy or if you already have it then compress it on flash mx

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    351
    Simple error you've made.. You've put the path to the swf files down incorrectly. You have

    <param name=movie value="C:\WINDOWS\Desktop\Flash .swf's\noreasonproject.swf">
    <embed src="C:\WINDOWS\Desktop\Flash .swf's\noreasonproject.swf" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="200" height="190">

    The path: C:\WINDOWS\Desktop\Flash .swf's\noreasonproject.swf

    should be the path to the file on your SERVER, ie:

    <embed src="http://geocities.com/punkrawkalien/noreasonproject.swf"pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="200" height="190">

    OR (if the file is located in the same folder on YOUR SERVER as the website files)

    <embed src="noreasonproject.swf" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="200" height="190">



  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    351
    You've done the same thing on your splah (intro) page.

    You have the path:

    <img src="C:\My Documents\My Pictures\noreason.jpg" width="491" height="418" alt="-No Reason-" border="9">

    which should be:

    <img src="http://geocities.com/punkrawkalien/noreason.jpg" width="491" height="418" alt="-No Reason-" border="9">

    OR (if pic in same folder on server)

    <img src="noreason.jpg" width="491" height="418" alt="-No Reason-" border="9">

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    10
    OMG, dude thank you soo much....i knew how to all this before, but i haven't used HTML for about 5 months and practically forgot how to make it to the correct path directory. So dude, i wanna thank all of you for helping....and thanks for looking up the Source Code for me, man, i appreciate it...thanks alot.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    351
    You're welcome man...Don't mention it...
    My life is a dedication of assistance

    Keep flashing ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center