A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Form Mail Hell

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5
    I would appreciate any help out there! I have form with no validation script no bells or whistles, just a simple field and a submit button. Now when I test my movie within flash or play the published SWF in a stand alone player everything works, the form submits and I get a happy little email in my Outlook smiling at me. The minute I embed the SWF in an HTM page and then submit the form from this HTM page I get squat, jack, a big NOTHING. Has anyone EVER had this problem!?? Please help if you can. I've included my submit button script for your disection! Is there something I should do to the HTM page to make this work!?!? Thanks to all those who give me advise in advance..

    ----- Script for the SUBMIT button -----

    on (press, keyPress "<Enter>") {
    subject = "newsletter signup";
    recipient = "myemail@mydomain.com";
    loadVariablesNum("http://www.mydomain.com/cgi-bin/FormMail.pl", 0,"GET");
    gotoAndPlay("submit");
    }

    --------------------------------------------

    P.S. I have tried both POST and GET and even did this standing on my head! Nothing!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    172

    Path...

    I had a similar problem a while back......not sure if this would work for you. My problem was in the path to the cgi script. Try deleting the http/ etc. and start your path with (/cgi-bin/...........etc. and make sure that the swf file is located in the root directory on your domain relative to the cgi-bin folder. That worked for me...good luck!

  3. #3
    I think I remeber reading somewhere that Macromedia put limitations on the loadVariablesNum() function. I think you are only allowed to load variables to/from a script page which is under the same domain as the movie itself (similar to the cookie rool).

    Also you shouldn't be using loadVariablesNum() its "Depricated"
    try using mc.loadVariables() or creating a LoadVars object

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5

    Re: Path...

    Originally posted by Mikkelator
    I had a similar problem a while back......not sure if this would work for you. My problem was in the path to the cgi script. Try deleting the http/ etc. and start your path with (/cgi-bin/...........etc. and make sure that the swf file is located in the root directory on your domain relative to the cgi-bin folder. That worked for me...good luck!
    Thanks for the tip, tried it , but NO LUCK.. hmm I don't understand how being inside the HTM file could prevent it from being able to send the info to the CGI script?!?!?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by enamics
    I think I remeber reading somewhere that Macromedia put limitations on the loadVariablesNum() function. I think you are only allowed to load variables to/from a script page which is under the same domain as the movie itself (similar to the cookie rool).

    Also you shouldn't be using loadVariablesNum() its "Depricated"
    try using mc.loadVariables() or creating a LoadVars object
    Hmm, the SWF and CGI are within the same domain, unless you mean that they should be within the same folder! (that makes no sense though! :S ), I tried the mc.loadVariables() and still no banana! Can I still format the 'method' in the same way as the previous script (i.e. "http://www.ibeetle.com/cgi-bin/FormMail.pl", 0, "POST" ) ? And do you know a good tutorial on LoadVars object?? Cause I realy need this to work! :'( But thanks for the input..!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    31
    1)try using the path "/cgi-bin/formmail.pl"

    2)do u need to put some code in the html?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by KelvBlue
    1)try using the path "/cgi-bin/formmail.pl"

    2)do u need to put some code in the html?
    I don't think, and I have never seen additional code in any HTML using flash forms that I've seen in the past. And changing the path call hasn't done a thing, like I said, it works fine outside the HTML .. so whats the change once embeded??

  8. #8
    dont know if its relevant but if the swf is in a different folder to the html which holds it any relative paths will be based from where the html file sits not the swf

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    3

    Form

    Hi
    Hope this works ( i've had alot of trouble with forms )
    but all my forms work now.


    on (release) {
    subject = "blah";
    recipient = "blah@blah.com";
    getURL("/cgi-bin/mailform.pl",0,"POST");

    As mentioned by Mikkelator, forget all the'http' bit.


    HTML , .swf , etc should all be in same folder when
    you upload.

    .swf must not be in cgi folder. Only cgi scripts belong
    there.

    good luck.

    p.s TIP:- To tab through text fields without script keep them away from buttons.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    13
    I have been experiencing EXACTLY the same problem for ages.

    I would love to tell you I have found an answer but I haven't.

    I do know that whether you include the http:/ etc... for the CGI path is irrelevant.

    Although, if you include the http:/ stuff then a least the SWF file will call the CGI script correctly wherever the SWF file is stored.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    143
    When ever Ive don this in the past I always posted the varibles and used a relitive path ie ../../cgi-bin/FormMail.pl or cgi-bin/FormMail.pl with out the leading slash although Ive mainly done it on a WinNT or 2K Server

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center