A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 81 to 98 of 98

Thread: Macromedia FLASH EXPERTS --> Look In

  1. #81
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    160



    thanks a lot,
    this looked much much neater,what about having the choice from an external text file to have 1 answer or 10 and to change the position of the answers or i am dreaming.

  2. #82
    half as fun, double the price senocular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Francisco, CA (USA)
    Posts
    4,361
    might as well rename "fig" to frame in your obj and go to and stop to that directly

  3. #83
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    You can make the answers multiple choice (or have answers for equations with more than one solution) by making the answer part of the object an array

    eg

    quiz[0] = {q: "question", a: ["answera", "answerb", "answerc"], fig: 2}

    you could access "answerb" by

    quiz[0].a[1];

    I think one of the fla files on http://www.angelfire.com/electronic2...math_quiz.html does this (probably the factorising one)

  4. #84
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    160
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by catbert303
    [B]You can make the answers multiple choice (or have answers for equations with more than one solution) by making the answer part of the object an array

    eg

    quiz[0] = {q: "question", a: ["answera", "answerb", "answerc"], fig: 2}

    you could access "answerb" by

    quiz[0].a[1];



    thanks a lot,
    this was a second happy thing today - u made my day -, but please dont be nervous, what if i want to pick certain nos of objects from the array (i.e.ant to control the way the questions are browesed to make them random sometimes,serial sometimes and certain questions picked only other times.


  5. #85
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    You can select random questions by using

    index = Math.floor(Math.random() * quiz.length);
    question = quiz[index].q;

    then once the question has been asked you can remove it from the array by using

    quiz.splice(index,1);

    the quiz is over when quiz.length == 0

  6. #86
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    I guess you could decide how the questions are selected with a variable mode

    eg

    if (mode == "in_order") {
    index++; // move to next question
    } else if (mode == "random") {
    index = Math.floor(Math.random() * quiz.length);
    }

  7. #87
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    160

    sorry, but index++ doesnt get it in a serial order
    and what about the extra ability of selecting certain objects from the array, i.e. qus no 2,6 only 4 example, can u help me out plz, thanks in advance.
    [Edited by rasha ali on 06-11-2002 at 03:07 PM]

  8. #88
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    Oops, yeah that would be because the array is being spliced, here is some code that works...

    In frame 1 have 3 buttons to decide which order the questions are asked and a stop(); action in the frame.

    on (release) {
    mode = "in order";
    gotoAndPlay(2);
    }

    on (release) {
    mode = "increasing random";
    gotoAndPlay(2);
    }

    on (release) {
    mode = "random";
    gotoAndPlay(2);
    }

    frame 2

    quiz = new Array();
    quiz[0] = {q: "x + 1 = 3", a: 2};
    quiz[1] = {q: "x - 4 = 2", a: 6};
    quiz[2] = {q: "x - 3 = 1", a: 4};
    quiz[3] = {q: "2x = 10", a: 5};
    quiz[4] = {q: "3x = 12", a: 4};
    quiz[5] = {q: "7x = 21", a: 3};
    quiz[6] = {q: "2x + 3 = 5", a: 1};
    quiz[7] = {q: "4x - 2 = 6", a: 2};
    quiz[8] = {q: "9x + 7 = -2", a: -1};
    quiz[9] = {q: "2x + 1 = -5", a: -3};

    if (mode == "in order") {
    index = 0;
    } else if (mode == "increasing random") {
    index = Math.floor(Math.random() * 3);
    } else {
    index = Math.floor(Math.random() * quiz.length);
    }

    score = 0;
    displayScore = "Score: " + score;

    frame 3

    Have the dynamic textboxes question and displayScore along with the input box answer and a submit button. Frame actions like this

    question = quiz[index].q;
    correctAnswer = quiz[index].a;

    Selection.setFocus("answer");

    stop();

    and on the submit button

    on (release) {
    if (answer == correctAnswer) {
    score++;
    displayScore = "Score: " + score;
    }
    quiz.splice(index,1);
    answer = "";
    if (quiz.length == 0) {
    gotoAndStop("end");
    }
    if (mode == "increasing random") {
    index += Math.ceil(Math.random() * 3);
    if (index > quiz.length) {
    gotoAndStop("end");
    }
    } else if (mode == "random") {
    index = Math.floor(Math.random() * quiz.length);
    }
    gotoAndPlay(_currentframe + 1);
    }

    frame 4

    gotoAndStop(_currentframe - 1);

    in the frame labelled end just have the displayScore variable and a message telling the user they've finished.

  9. #89
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    19
    catbert303, ive finished the tutorial on maths algebra, do you want a copy of it, seeing that you did help me a lot on it?

    if you do, you'll need a fast connection, and msn messenger or icq, seeing that i can only send it through there, seeing that the total files come up to 7MB

  10. #90
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    160
    thanks, serial and random parts did work quit well as i wanted

    buttttt ,

    sorry, i will try to make it the last question, i think i didnt explain the part considering choosing specific questions well, i mean that i have the ability to write

    x = 1,3 to have questions 1 and 3 only displayed

    ((after finishing i will put x in an external txt file, so as random and serial choice but this isnt my problem now))

    my problem is how to pick these 2 objects from the array, i.e. if x=1,3 index values= 0,2 but how ????, thanks.


  11. #91
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    Are you wanting to show to questions to do simultaneous equations?

    Anyway, to display 2 questions, you could have 2 dynamic textboxes q1 and q2 or something

    then use 2 index variables to select the questions

    maybe use something like

    index1 = Math.floor(Math.random() * (quiz.length / 2));
    index2 = index1 + Math.ceil(Math.random() * (quiz.length / 4));

    to pick the index values

    q1 = quiz[index1].q;
    q2 = quiz[index2].q;

    and for the answers,
    a1 = quiz[index1].a;
    a2 = quiz[index2].a;

  12. #92
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    160
    Originally posted by catbert303
    Are you wanting to show to questions to do simultaneous equations?

    maybe use something like

    index1 = Math.floor(Math.random() * (quiz.length / 2));
    index2 = index1 + Math.ceil(Math.random() * (quiz.length / 4));
    no, this is not what i want, sorry 4 unclear explanation, what i want is: to get the abilitiy to use the same original file by three different ways by remoting it from another files
    first way : random by making rand(variable) =1;
    second way : serial by making serial(variable)=1;

    and those 2 ways are ok now, the problem is in the third way which is:


    picking certain questions by making quno(variable)= 3,7,9
    (i have to split this variable inside but what shall i do next to make this variable values the picked indexes ???

    //---------------------------------------------------
    and so the same file can be loaded with three different ways depending on the value of these variables (i.e. from file 1.swf i call the quiz with making rand=1 so the file will be displayed random
    but from file 2.swf i call the same file with making quno=3,7 what makes no. three and seven only to be displayed
    one after the other as if the array contains them only
    //-------------------------------------------------------

    thanks.










  13. #93
    Senior Mender trionik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Montréal,Canada
    Posts
    1,077
    Wow ... i think that's the help section longest thread...

    5 page of helping what a great community...


    I no i'm not helping but i'm stunt... And have to share my emotion

  14. #94
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    160
    hello everybody,
    catbert303 where r u? i need help here in the choice of questions part here is my code plz tell me what is going wrong, because the whole array of questions is displayed again
    note:quno is a variable readed from another swf
    e.g. quno=1,2;
    -----------------------------------------------------------my code :
    if(choose==1)

    {
    indexarray=quno.split(",");
    numQuestions =Number(choosearray.length);

    for (j=0;j<indexarray.length;j++)
    {
    choosearray =new Array (indexarray.length);

    choosearray[j]=quiz[Number(indexarray[j])];


    }

    index = Math.floor(Math.random()*choosearray.length);
    }
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    when i make ctrl shift v when testing movie i found:

    1- indexarray is ok it reads 1 and 2 in it.

    2- choosearray does read one object only not two as it is supposed to do.



  15. #95
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    If you email me the fla file (and the file you load variables from) I can try to take a look at it, see if I can work out what going wrong with it

    email catbert303@yahoo.com

  16. #96
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    160
    Originally posted by catbert303
    If you email me the fla file (and the file you load variables from) I can try to take a look at it, see if I can work out what going wrong with it

    email catbert303@yahoo.com


    hello catbert303,
    i have sent u the mail is there any news

  17. #97
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    Originally posted by rasha ali


    hello catbert303,
    i have sent u the mail is there any news
    Could you send your text file too? I can't test easily without knowing what variables are coming from the file, thanks

  18. #98
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    160
    Originally posted by catbert303
    Originally posted by rasha ali


    hello catbert303,
    i have sent u the mail is there any news
    Could you send your text file too? I can't test easily without knowing what variables are coming from the file, thanks

    thanks,
    i have sent u the txt file now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center