A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Simple Question I think

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    59
    Hi,

    How do I loop through 10 button names?

    Button1.onPress = function() {
    addToArray();
    };
    Button2.onPress = function() {
    addToArray();
    };
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Button10.onPress = function() {
    addToArray();
    };

    I had something like this in my mind:

    Button[i].onPress = function() {
    addToArray();
    };

    -but nope it doesn't work.

    Thanks,
    Kyungnielsen

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    59
    Ups,

    Button(i).onPress = function() {
    addToArray();
    };

    The i in brackets [] became italic.

    I hope you got my point

    Thanks,
    Kyungnielsen

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    143
    you forgot the for

    Code:
    for(i=1;i=10;i++){
      Button(i).onPress = function() { 
        addToArray(); 
      };
    }
    or you could

    Code:
    for(i=1;i=10;i++){
      _root["Button"+i).onPress = function() { 
        addToArray(); 
      };
    }

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    59
    Great - Thanks

    cheers,
    Kyungnielsen

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    59
    Hi,

    Now I have an add on for this problem:

    I generates x buttons based on input from a array with the following code:
    <br>
    <hr><br><pre>
    for (m=0; m<WrongOnes.length; m++) {
    _root.fb.attachMovie("BackToQuestions", "QNumberWrong"+[m], WrongOnes[m]);
    //Simple alignment of number on button
    if (WrongOnes[m]<10) {
    p = " "+(WrongOnes[m]+1);
    } else {
    p = (WrongOnes[m]+1);
    }
    _root.fb["QNumberWrong"+m].QuestionNumber = p;
    //Placement
    _root.fb["QNumberWrong"+m]._x = -90+m*distance;
    _root.fb["QNumberWrong"+m]._y = 25;
    _root.fb["QNumberWrong"+m].dynamicButton.onRelease = function() {
    i = m;
    FeedbackDisplay();
    };
    }
    <hr><br>
    </pre>
    When one of dynamic buttons is pressed it's going to update the display by splitting some arrays(i) into different text fields.

    The looping dosen't work as it assign the last value of m to all the i on all the buttons. <br>The functionallity I am looking for is: When button 1 is pressed split array(1), when 2 is pressed split array(2), button(i) --> array(i) and so on

    Any suggestions on how to solve this?

    cheers,
    KyungNielsen

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    143
    Code:
    _root.fb["QNumberWrong"+m].dynamicButton.prototype.onRelease = function() {
    	i = m;	
    	FeedbackDisplay();
    };
    well your still not using the prototype method to assign events and methods to your objects

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    59
    Well this prototype thing seems to scare me off

    Even with your help (I really appreciate it - thanks) I can't make it work.

    It works fine if I hardcode it, so the path & syntax should be ok, but then there obvious is no reason for creating dynamic buttons.

    I'll keep on figthing....



  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    143
    when ever you type in

    object.method = function()

    insted type

    object.prototype.method = function()

    and thats about it if your assigning a function use the prototype method

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center