A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is there an FSCommand to centre a projector

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    299
    Hi, is there a fscommand to centre a flash projector?

  2. #2
    Lifetime Friend of Site Staff Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766

    The *free* CENTER.EXE utility I wrote can do it.

    http://board.flashkit.com/board/show...hreadid=279263


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    299

    Thanks mate

    Thanks heaps, I will check it out!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    299

    Cool Do I just place this in the first frame of the projector?

    Hi mate, do I just place this,
    fscommand("EXEC", "center.exe\tNotepad");
    in the first frame of the projector?
    just changing the "Notepad" to whatever the projector is named?
    Also I have your studio software but can't seem to make the links to external files work it just opens up MSN homepage?
    IAll my links to HTML, EXCEL,WORD and PDF work fine if I just have the projector produced in flash5 as they are all in the root directory and I call them via geturl command, however when I try to wrap it up in studio the links do not work anymore even when it is all in the same directory?
    Can you explain in Laments terms how to make this work using your software, this is the only thing I cannot do in studio it is fantastic.......cheers

  5. #5
    Lifetime Friend of Site Staff Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766

    The CENTER command looks correct. You could also use fscommand("exec", "center.exe" + chr(9) + "Notepad"). The "\t" is a tab and works the same as chr(9). If you're calling it from SWF Studio you can just use a space like this fscommand("exec", "%org%\\center.exe notepad").

    When getURL runs from inside SWF Studio, it assumes you're opening a real URL and it will stick an HTTP prefix on everything you pass in automatically (unless it already has a prefix). The easy solution is to add a "file://" prefix.

    A better solution is to use SHELLOPEN to open your files because it won't open a browser window unless you pass it an HTML file.

    For example: fscommand("SHELLOPEN", "%ORG%\\file.pdf") will open a PDF file in the same dir as your projector in the Acrobat Reader without opening a browser window.


  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    299

    alright....great

    Thanks for the reply, I will give this a go.
    Just let me check to be sure, instead of the get URL action on my button within the movie I add;
    fscommand("SHELLOPEN", "%ORG%\\file.pdf")
    and alter the file name and extension to .doc .htm etc

    Thanks again for your time helping me with this

  7. #7
    Lifetime Friend of Site Staff Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766

    Yup, that's it. SHELLOPEN is a command that you can use in SWF Studio projectors to open any type of file in its native application. The file type has to be registered for it to open but you have the same limitation with getURL too.


  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    299

    Ok cool

    I'll give it a try now.....cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center