dynamic text
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: dynamic text

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    99

    Exclamation

    im using dynamic text in my menu. seems like itll take up less space and i gotta learn to do this sometime soon so im asking you guys

    ive got a menu up and i have my dynamic text field up also in my menu there is 4 buttons each leading to different things
    2 of them i want to lead to dynamic text
    question#1 can i use 1 dynamic text field for 2 different buttons leading to 2 different text contents?

    question#2 what code do i use on the button to make the dynamic text show up

    question#3 where to i type the dynamic text.

    ill most likely have more questions on this topic seeing im new to dynamic text.

    thanks a bunch guys

    -largefry
    [Edited by largefry89 on 05-12-2002 at 12:29 PM]

  2. #2
    Senior Member tigersbite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    314
    You can change the contents of a dynamic text box as often as you like. Just make sure you type a variable name in the Text Options section. You then use that name to assign the content to the dynamic text box.

    textBoxName = "something";

    Hope this answered your question

  3. #3
    Senior Member Flamboyant Flasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,253


    Example: make a text field. In the text options panel, give that text field the variable name January1.

    Now, on a button, put this code:

    On (release){
    January1= "New Year's Day";
    {

    Furthermore, and as far as I know, you need to make a text field for dynamic content...Thus, I'm oblivious to whether or not you can have one text field for two different contents...I'll need to check that myself...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    99
    alright guys thanks i think this cleared it up for me

    thanks again

    -largefry

    ill keep you posted on how my site goes
    its really coming along

  5. #5
    Senior Member Flamboyant Flasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,253
    Good for you...let us see the finished product when it's done...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    99
    like i said im gonna have more questions.well here one is

    in the dynamic text field i have it the perfect size.but my text wont fit it it...so i need a scroller bar
    as you can see im gonna need a full instruction on this
    thanks a bunch

    -largefry

  7. #7
    Senior Member Flamboyant Flasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,253
    what version of Flash are you using? I'll be around lata...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    99
    Originally posted by Flamboyant Flasher
    what version of Flash are you using? I'll be around lata...
    im using flashMX

  9. #9
    Senior Member Flamboyant Flasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,253
    Ok, I'm going home now; I'll post up when I get home...I'll be home around 11:00pm, New York City time...talk to you then...

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    99
    alright well im back any way you can post up today? or anyone else that can help to my previous question thanks
    -largefry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com