dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Movie resizing

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, NH
    Posts
    27

    Wink

    Does anyone know if and how a movie can be resized?
    I want to make a menu button that when clicked on it expands (width & length).
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member zoranvedek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Wagoner OK
    Posts
    892
    Use a layer, or move your elements, and keep your movie the same size(I think you'll find it alot simpler, and that it allows you more control). A basic idea can be seen here:

    http://www.deadyeti.com/into3dfa/res...ndustrial.html


    -Jason


  3. #3
    KoolMoves Moderator blanius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    5,244
    Originally posted by ocabeza
    Does anyone know if and how a movie can be resized?
    I want to make a menu button that when clicked on it expands (width & length).
    Thanks.
    you can within the javascript of your html page. Resize it like you would an image. NOTE: I am refering to javascript as Dhtml in the webpage NOT javascript in 3dfa

    (Untested, I'm pretty sure this is correct)


  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, NH
    Posts
    27
    Thanks guys.
    Jason I really like what you did there. I'm not to familiar with layers, but I'll look at it as an option.

    I did look around about doing it via javascript and I agree I might have to do it outside of the 3DFA movie.
    I'll have to find out how to change the width and height by calling function outside of the .swf file. Hmm... I'll take a stab at it.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    KoolMoves Moderator blanius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    5,244

    another option

    Originally posted by ocabeza
    Thanks guys.
    Jason I really like what you did there. I'm not to familiar with layers, but I'll look at it as an option.

    I did look around about doing it via javascript and I agree I might have to do it outside of the 3DFA movie.
    I'll have to find out how to change the width and height by calling function outside of the .swf file. Hmm... I'll take a stab at it.

    Thanks.
    depending on what you are after you have other options using layers and Dhtml to move them and resize them.

    Here's a menu that is hidden off screen. In the button action I call the javascript code in the Dhtml to move the layer containing the actual movie

    http://deadyeti.com/blanius/pulloutmenu.html


  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Londonderry, NH
    Posts
    27

    Smile perfect!!!

    That is more of what I want to do. It looks like I'll have to figure out the javascript. Is it open source?
    Thanks.

  7. #7
    KoolMoves Moderator blanius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    5,244

    Re: perfect!!!

    Originally posted by ocabeza
    That is more of what I want to do. It looks like I'll have to figure out the javascript. Is it open source?
    Thanks.
    I did it with Dreamweaver, VERY easy to do if you have something like it. (of course you can "view" the source of a page and maybe figure it out....

    Or send me the movie file and the html file you want it put into.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center