A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sound Problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member kusco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    681
    Hi groupies,

    I've been trying to add a button click sound to the buttons in the links menu for my site. The sound work fine in preview but when exported - silence!

    I'm using an Action in the button down event to play the sound.

    Obviously, I'm missing something. Any thoughts???

    Cheers,
    Kusco

  2. #2
    Senior Member zoranvedek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Wagoner OK
    Posts
    892
    Ok, instead of adding the sound to the movie itself........

    Down at the very bottom of the actions area in the button menu will be a place to add sounds for the button itself. This is by far the simplest way to add button sounds.

    However, they should work just fine by adding them to the movie and calling them using an action(don't really know why they wouldn't). One thing to note though, if you have 3dfa open while previewing, it will sometimes(but not always) take complete control of your sound card. Try closing the program and then previewing and see if that helps.


    -Jason


  3. #3
    Senior Member kusco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    681
    Thanks Jason,

    I tried both of your suggestions without success.

    What I discovered is that the wav file I was using is too short. I replaced it with one that is slightly longer in time and it worked but, I noticed that the sound was cut rather short. There was no change in frequency so I ruled out the possibility that the wav was being played back at a faster rate.

    Anyway, I changed the sound (not quite what I want) but at least it works.

    Cheers,
    Ed

  4. #4
    KoolMoves Moderator blanius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    5,244

    same

    Originally posted by kusco
    Thanks Jason,

    I tried both of your suggestions without success.

    What I discovered is that the wav file I was using is too short. I replaced it with one that is slightly longer in time and it worked but, I noticed that the sound was cut rather short. There was no change in frequency so I ruled out the possibility that the wav was being played back at a faster rate.

    Anyway, I changed the sound (not quite what I want) but at least it works.

    Cheers,
    Ed
    I had similar problem with sound in the breakout game. For a long time I forgot I had added a sound to the paddle hit event because I never hear it.... LOL picked different sound and it worked.


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    173
    Was there a bug to report on this one, guys ?

    is 3dfa cutting off sound ?

  6. #6
    Senior Member kusco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    681

    oops!

    dkerr,

    I must've forgotten to send one in...on it's way.

    cheers,
    ed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center