dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Opening A MovieClip

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    45
    How Do I Open A MovieClip, That Is In The Library, When I Click A Button ???

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    306
    there are a number of ways to do this

    most simply, have your button in one key frame, when you click the button have it jump to another key frame which contains your movie clip

    ie: have your button in frame 1, on click go to frame 10, and have your movie clip in frame 10

    hope this helps

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    45
    Yea, Thats The Simple Way, But I Want An ActionScript To Put On The Button. I Dont Want To Use Frames. Can Anyone Help ???

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    45
    Can Anyone Help ?????

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    667
    Look up movieClip.attachMovie() in the actionscript dictionary, I think this is what you're looking for.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    45
    I Think I Tried That Already, But I'll See What I Can Put Together.

  7. #7
    chatbugs.com ***** flashTampaDotCom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    171
    The most common mistake people make trying to do the same thing: (with attachmovie)

    Ensure in the library [on that object] you select "export for actionscript" under the linkage option, and give it a name, and in the actionscript, target that name.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    45
    O, I Would Of Never Figured That Out, Thanks Man

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    45
    Um.. Im Kinda Having A Problem. Whats Does "initObject" Mean ?????? And Just Incase It Still Doesnt Work, Can Some1 Show Me The Exact Script To Put In.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    667
    It lets you add properties to the attached movie clip, but it's not required.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    45
    Yea Its Not Working. Any Suggestions ??? And Also I'v Been Wondering For A While, How Do U Add Components To A MovieClip ????

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    45
    Any Help ???? Please

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center