dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 5 of 15 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 291

Thread: Petition for Macromedia to improve the Macintosh Flash Plugin.

  1. #81
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    28

    Please Porfavor Give us a better player

    I'm a flash developer/ animator / senior designer. I have purchase macromedia products hoping that the Mac Version of Flash would improve.... Please don't stop me from buying your products.

    Thank you

  2. #82
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    30
    i am in - talk about discrimination!!!

    Sort it out - its quite saddening to see a nice website on a pc and then have it cause problems on a mac!!!!!



  3. #83
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1

    okay

    hook me up!

  4. #84
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    117

    It's a Mac, Mac, Mac, Mac world

    It's ok gang I'm here


    now something will get done.

    (Mac)romedia now

    Planethouse

  5. #85
    super-senior member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    antwerp.belgium
    Posts
    268
    ///////com'on !.... there are only 84 members using a MAC ??? ///



    sign this thing


    sven


  6. #86
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    13
    hook it up. Even with a G4 867 flash plays the same as my ol PentiumII 500. Speed it up.

  7. #87
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    48
    HyproSolar.
    signed and awaiting progress.

    Right now im trying to figure out why Flash falls apart when it hits netscape. "I wonder why thats happening?"
    If MacroMedia is all about the $ I doubt we will see improvements.
    [Edited by HyproSolar on 07-31-2002 at 02:54 PM]

  8. #88
    Mod cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,448
    Hi,

    I have come across a couple of threads from Mac users that the actionscript window takes a long time to open. It's true. I have also noticed that. It's another Mac issue Macromedia may want to take care of.
    However, I have to say this MX especially is a great product.

  9. #89
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    23
    Unfortunately, the problem isn't with the plug-in, but with the plug-in arcitecture of the Mac. It's not Macromedia's problem, but Apple's. The were suppossed to fix it with OSX but didn't. You might want to petition them.

  10. #90
    juggernart me2222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    1,322
    Originally posted by epsnowden
    Unfortunately, the problem isn't with the plug-in, but with the plug-in arcitecture of the Mac. It's not Macromedia's problem, but Apple's. The were suppossed to fix it with OSX but didn't. You might want to petition them.

    how can you say that? where are the facts?
    there are a lot of plugins running smooth on mac, Quicktime, QuicktimeVR, RealMedia, iPix and so on...

    Never heard of a "plugin arcitecture of the mac".
    As far as i know the plugins are handled by the browser application.

    The BIG problem with the flash plugin is the use of graphics.
    I read somewhere that the flash plugin uses Apple Quickdraw, which is not the fastest technology.
    In OSX it doesn't take advantage of the pdf (vector) based "quartz" graphics engine.

    Even if it were the macs fault...
    there is allways one more difficult way to workaround problems.
    I think Macromedia takes the easier way.

    ciao

  11. #91
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    23
    I didn't mean to anger anyone...

    I'm a mac user too. This is the answer I got from a pretty well known Flash guru when I was assisting him in a class. I use a mac and I would love for this to be wrong, It's just what I was told. I hope someone can prove me wrong.

  12. #92
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    14

    I'm in

    With Macs being known for us "graphic designer" types, its pretty sad that Macromedia can't get it together and get a working Flash plugin.

    Its pretty bad when I have to check my SWFs on a PC to make sure the timing is right.

    Rob Brand

  13. #93
    Senior Member SJT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,563
    Originally posted by epsnowden
    I didn't mean to anger anyone...

    I'm a mac user too. This is the answer I got from a pretty well known Flash guru when I was assisting him in a class. I use a mac and I would love for this to be wrong, It's just what I was told. I hope someone can prove me wrong.
    Well in OS 9 the plugin architecture is built by netscape, it's the same for everything else.
    I don't think me2222 is angry with you, it's just it's pretty unlikely...personally i haven't seen either:
    1. any complaint about other plugin's speed/rendering issues in OS X
    2. Any comment that the plugin architecture is flawed.

    If you have more evidence on this, then yes, maybe we should petition apple as well, but until i see conclusive proof...on the other hand, the tweaks MM have made to the plugin in beta releases have improved the performance. This suggests to me that their programming is at fault.
    [Edited by SJT on 08-04-2002 at 07:19 AM]

  14. #94
    psx = new Moderator();
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    923
    Hey -
    I must agree that apple is partially to blame. I wouldn't blame the plugin architecture, seems that would be handled by your browser of choice, vs the os? I have no idea of course, that's just my best guess.

    But I do believe that the graphics rendering of os x is definitely slower than that of os 9 on the same machine.

    Lots of folks complaining about speed issues with os x since it's release, while in reality the system's workings are probably faster (if not alot more stable) than those of os9, but the displays aren't updating fast enough for things like resizing windows. Giving a perceived slowness.

    Display rendering is so far handled by the main processor and not the graphics processor. The next version (jaguar, 10.2) is said to utilize the graphics cards in macs with 32megs of ram or more. (Hehe. I only need 30 more megs and I'll be set!)

    * edit: just reread the link below - seems only 16megs is required.

    Unfortunately our only option for an apple petition would be to demand 10.2 as a free upgrade, which just isn't going to happen. Older macs will run 10.2 but the quartz engine won't use the graphics card unless it's on the list of compatible cards.
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/jaguar/quartzextreme.html

    Psx

  15. #95
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    17
    I will always be on Apple system and i love flash. Please improve the player, playas.




  16. #96
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    130
    I have bought Apple for years - but I have to admit I am getting more than a little pissed now that everything is now done primarily for the PC first and then companies thinking '...oh yeah we better do something for those people who use Macs!...' I never thought I'd see the day when I was thinking of switching over.

    Please don't make me turn to the darkside... give me a faster player!

  17. #97
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    11

    Frustrated

    This speed thing has been driving me nuts for years now.
    And yes i feel like designing everything flash on a pc now.

    Pissed.

  18. #98
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    42

    10.2 IE 5.2.1 and flash plugin 6r29

    I have a TiBook 667 that I just installed 10.2 on. I have to say FINALLY the flash plugin in IE plays full speed!

    I know historically on OSX, Omniweb played flash the best, then IE, the Netscape(horribly).

    SInce the plugin is now broken for Omniweb and I don't use Nutscrape I can't test those but for IE on OSX.2 it's finally up to speed.

    I always thought something was fishy since different browsers played flash movies at different speeds. Looks like it the browsers might be a little to blame!

  19. #99
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    11
    PLEASE make them operate identically.

  20. #100
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    42

    Jumped the gun...

    Looks like I might have gotten a little ahead of myself... Once I updated my flash plugin from v29 to v47, the latest from Macromedia, the performance went back to the way it was. I did however see good (PC type) perfomance with v29 and X10.2. Or else I was smokin something...

    Damn...

    But 10.2 feels "snappier" hehe :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center