dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: "pic.jpg" instead of "epic.jpg"e

  1. #1
    Mod cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,448
    Hi,
    I have Flash MX and when I upload a xml file containing "", these are always converted to &quote; which I don't want. How can I get "" marks uploaded instead of &quote;?

  2. #2
    Moonlight shadow asheep_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,010
    Do you mean the file name, something in the Flash MX file or in the XML file?

    TE

  3. #3
    Mod cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,448
    I have "pic.jpg" in the xml file. When I load the xml file and trace it, it becomes &quote;pic.jpg&quote;.

  4. #4
    Moonlight shadow asheep_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,010
    Are you uploading in binary?

    TE

  5. #5
    Mod cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,448
    What do you mean? All I am doing is loading an XML file in flash and getting to the line "pic.jpg". I don't know how it is loaded.

  6. #6
    Moonlight shadow asheep_uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,010
    Depending on what you do to upload it, what happens to it can vary. What FTP client do you use?

    TE

  7. #7
    Mod cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,448
    I am currently doing everything on my hardrive.

    By the way thanks for the discussion I appreciate.

  8. #8
    Senior Member tupps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,035
    OK,

    the &quote; is what happens when you have "html escaped" data. You will find you < and > in your data get changed as well.

    It depends where you are seeing the problem. If it is on the server side of things (CGI, ASP, PHP etc) you will have to check the documentation for an HTML escape routine. If it is in flash use: espace(myString) and unEscape(myString)

    Here is an example from MacroMedias ActionScript dictionary:

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...79.html#222434

    And unescape:

    http://www.macromedia.com/support/fl...49.html#240889

    Thanks

    Luke

  9. #9
    Mod cancerinform's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    press the picture...
    Posts
    13,448
    Great. Thanks I will try that out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center