A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Freelance payments UK

I have just made a deal with a company to do all their Flash movies and bits of HTML and stuff.....

This is pretty much the first paid stuff ive done and need to know what to charge....

The stuff I will be doing is just small animations, banners, menu's, logo's and maybe the odd small site.
    Now take into consideration im a graduate and am just happy to have got some work. The company is small and charge bout £60-100 per page....

some of the work i will be doin can be done in hours, some a day, some a week....

Should i predict how long each project will take and then charge by the hour? or set a overall price for each.

Thanks all

You've made a deal with this company and haven't discussed pricing with them yet? You should already have been past this point before you signed a contract or made a "deal".
    I would suggest that you sit down with them and discuss how much they are willing to pay for your work, and then you can counter with your own offer. But in the future, I would recommend not finalizing your deal until after all the facts about the project are known.

you might consider going hourly if possible, since you don't have much to go on as of yet as to how long stuff takes you. once you start doing paid work you'll keep track of your hours a lot closer than ever before, and you'll probably be a bit surprised by how quickly things add up!

sorry jabezstone. i didnt word my explanation correctly. Its just a verbal agreement i have with the m.d. that i will do some work for them. no contract have been signed but that brings up other problems i have:
    1. what type of contract do freelancers use
    2. Do you use invoices?
    3. what about paying tax on your earnings?

any ideas or advice?

cheers for that pheck

just out of interest how much would you charge a one off fee for this:

http://www.pd012b0218.pwp.blueyonder...t/jigsaw2.html