A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Get URL not working

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    41
    I published flash intro for a website. I have an invisible button that is supposed to bring the user to the index.html of the website (published in GoLive). Unfortunately, it doesn't. It does recognize that it is a button (the cursor changes) but it doesn't not get the url or even give me an error. This also happens just in flashplayer, not only when previewing from GoLive.
    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    149
    What is the code you have on the button? and where exactly do you want the index page loaded?

  3. #3
    Maya * ActionScript Addict DangerAhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    299

    Code?

    do you have some code you'd like to show us so we can help?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    41
    Thanks for the reply, I tried the action script everywhere from the first and last frames of the scene to the button itself (which I shoudl have done in the first place) I'm a bit rusty and I think I may just be forgetting a simple thing. Here's the code I typed

    getURL(http:\\www.espn.com)

    I used ESPN for a test because we haven't uploaded the site yet and we wanted to see if that was the problem, but this link isn't even working.
    Thanks!

    Originally posted by drummondlw
    What is the code you have on the button? and where exactly do you want the index page loaded?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    41
    Originally posted by drummondlw
    What is the code you have on the button? and where exactly do you want the index page loaded?
    Sorry, I didn't answer the other question.

    The intro to the website was done in Flash, I published a SWF file and placed it into GoLive (site about completed before we got MX). This button's link should take the user to a new page in my website (index.html).
    (of course right now you'll see that the test website is espn). But, the link didn't even work in the flashplayer.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    194
    on your main timeline highlight your button and then add this code to the button.

    on (release) {
    getURL("http://www.espn.com");
    }

    that will work.

    The code attaches to the button symbol not inside the symbol itself.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    41

    Smile

    Originally posted by creativepointe
    on your main timeline highlight your button and then add this code to the button.

    on (release) {
    getURL("http://www.espn.com");
    }

    that will work.

    The code attaches to the button symbol not inside the symbol itself.
    Thanks much to all of you!!!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center