A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Menus!!! :(

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15
    Can someone please help me, I've started a website, about mountain biking and bmx for my friends and I, and I decided to include a draggable menu, the only problem is, that the buttons in the menu don't do anything even after i've assigned scenes to them.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canadian Wilderness
    Posts
    24
    Buddy, I am having the exact same problem except with an animated menu that revolves. Check out my posts. It seems that no one can help me! I'm not sure why this is hapenning. I'll let you know if I find anything out, and please do the same.

    ajl

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15

    Smile heh

    hmm revolving menu? i think there's a tutorial on that in the site.... one thing i know that's a problem with my menu, is that the buttons are located in a sort of group, and that usually messes things up, but the thing is, if i ungroup my menu, then it loses the nice look of transparency i gave it, and it doesn't drag

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15

    Thumbs up :(:(:(:(:(:(

    i wonder if i'll get it fixed, i really don't want to get rid of the menu...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canadian Wilderness
    Posts
    24

    Re: :(:(:(:(:(:(

    Same deal with the revolving menu and the group. It seems as though when you place a movie on the stage with buttons in it they become inactive. Hmmm.

    Anyway, lets keep one another posted.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    667
    I think both of your problems could be with using the wrong paths, post some code that you're using for the buttons.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canadian Wilderness
    Posts
    24

    Re: Re: :(:(:(:(:(:(

    I tried changing the path, but it didn't work. Check out my code under ANIMATED MENU PROBLEMS, I would really appreciate any input you may have.

    thanx.
    ajl

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canadian Wilderness
    Posts
    24

    Re: Re: Re: :(:(:(:(:(:(

    SOLVED!!! My problem was solved by etcettra, all I had to do was to put a label in frame 1 of each scene, with the same name as that scene.

    Let me know if it works for you, and thanks again to etcettra.


    ajl

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15
    hmm some code from my menu?

    on (press) {
    startDrag("/Menu");
    }
    on (release) {
    stopDrag();
    }

    that's the code to drag it around, including all the buttons,

    and this is the code for one of my buttons which is inside the menu

    on (press) {
    nextScene();
    }

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15
    my menu is pretty simple actually.

    it's a button, with buttons inside of it.
    i turned it into a button so i could drag it and the buttons which are inside of it around.

    it like thischeap pic) _____________
    | MENU |
    |(button 1) |
    |(button 2) |
    |(button 3) |
    |(button 4) |
    | /
    |___________/

    yepp......

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15

    Smile

    oh god... it looked a lot better when i was writing it... lol

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15
    plz... if anyone has the answer!!!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    298
    If you embed buttons into a button, naturally it won't work because the hit state with only respond the main button. Of course that track as menu item stuff might work, but I couldn't figure that out in Flash 5 anyway. Even still embedding the buttons into a movie clip will work and it is easy to do.

    Attach clipevents to the movie clip that makes the movie draggable. Edit the movie clip and put in your buttons.
    It works, here's an example<br>
    http://www4.ncsu.edu/~rlbrown5/drag_menu2.swf
    <br>

    Here is another version with a button as the trigger, inside the movie. The darker blue "Drag me" area is a button that contains the dragging code in this example.
    http://www4.ncsu.edu/~rlbrown5/drag_menu.swf


    If you can't figure it out, let me know.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15

    Smile

    thank you sooooooo much, now i can finally make that website about bends in paper, and how to chew air!

    heh, thx

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    15

    hrm...

    agh! there's one thing that ticks me off about this movieclip menu, it moves even if you're not clicking on it itself! you could click on the other side of the screen and it would still move..

  16. #16
    Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    The Bluegrass State Will Flash For Food ™
    Posts
    3,789

    Re: hrm...

    Originally posted by shaya98
    agh! there's one thing that ticks me off about this movieclip menu, it moves even if you're not clicking on it itself! you could click on the other side of the screen and it would still move..
    instead of
    Code:
    on (press) { 
    startDrag("/Menu"); 
    }
    on (release) { 
    stopDrag(); 
    }
    try
    Code:
    this.onPress = function() {
    startDrag(_root.Menu);
    }
    this.onRelease = function() {
    stopDrag(_root.Menu);
    }

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    298
    agh! there's one thing that ticks me off about this movieclip menu, it moves even if you're not clicking on it itself! you could click on the other side of the screen and it would still move..
    The one with the button as the "trigger" for dragging doesn't do that. However, look up the hitTest method in the reference panel. Not exactly sure on the syntax (as I am away from a computer with Flash on it) but the code will be something to the effect of
    Code:
    onClipEvent(mouseDown){
      if (hitTest is true){
      this.startDrag()
     }
    }
    
    onClipEvent(mouseUp){
    stopDrag();
    }
    Don't try that code, as it will not work, but that is the idea.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center