A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: rewind loop not working with a preloader!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    21
    Hey guys, i have a simple question...hopefully simple.

    Im using a script that plays my movie in reverse and also loops it.
    This is for a scrolling gallery type effect.
    Now I would like to put a preloader on the front of it, but when i do, my reverse loop doesnt work anylonger.
    Does anyone have any ideas of what could be causing this?
    Do i need to somehow include some new script to compensate for the new change of scene that happens with my preloader?

    Thanks,

    Bscott

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14
    What does your reverse code look like?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    21
    inside an empty movie clip called rewind:
    frm 1:

    stop();

    frm2:

    // This makes the main timeline run backwards.
    tellTarget ("_level0.menu.main_menu") {
    gotoAndStop(_currentframe-1);
    }

    frm3:

    if (Number(_level0.menu.main_menu:_currentframe) == 1) {
    // This code loops the main timeline backwards by check if it is at the current frame. If it is, it goes to the end and continues playing it backwards.
    tellTarget ("_level0.menu.main_menu") {
    gotoAndPlay(_totalframes-1);
    }
    }
    // This loops back to frame 2 thus looping the rewind code to play the movie backwards.
    gotoAndPlay(2);


    thats it. I borrowed it from a tutorial here on flashkit.
    anyideas on my problem or do you just want the code?

    best,
    bscott

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    21

    i sure could use an answer.. does nobody know?

    i would be willing to post my files, if someone thinks they can help me.

    thanks, bscott

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,849
    Well if you added a preloader, your code can't rewind all the way to frame 1, because I'm assuming that the first two frames of your movie are the preloader. Your rewind code can only rewind to frame 3, and then loop around.

    Is your rewind code not working at all, or not working once you get to the beginning of your movie?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    21

    well...

    well my rewind code works fine, and it rewinds to the beginning of my movie, but it also has a script to loop it, so it is continuous. My preloader is in scene 1, and all my rewind script is in scene2. So i dont understand why adding a scene before my content, changes the way the loop works. any ideas?

    thanks,
    bscott

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center