dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Thread: Streaming with linkage and turning it on and off.

Wink

Thanks for coming in.

I'm new to sound so I hope this isn't a repost, I've looked at other posts and really didn't understand them.

What I'm trying to do:
    I have this huge 11 MB MP3 ambient music file to play with my site. I don't want the user to preload the entire thing before it plays, so I want it to stream. I don't know how to make it stream and be able to have the functions of turning it on and off. Is there a tutorial for this? Or a movie I could download? I've tried various things but my knowledge in the Sound Actionscript department isn't very deep.

Can you use things such as setVolume on a streaming clip? How would you do it? How do you stream using actionscript?

I'm using MX.

Thanks, I know I can always count on the flashkit community.

-Kac

Cool Music that never stops

we got you covered Kac.

You know how to load an external SWF into a Movie Clip? ( loadMovie(RelativeURL,Level,Target))

If you have your song as the ONLY item in an SWF with a "goToAndStop(1)" action at the end you can load it into an empty (what I call "shell") MC from your interface at any time. You can also controll that SWF's timeline as if you were controling the timeline of the shell MC. If you set your sound to "stream" and make room for the whole thing on it's timeline, then it will start and stop in place just like an MC.

So in lew of using the Sound Object, this is a way to have an independantly loading and controlled Sound.

TaTa

-----
    I don't know how to make it stream and be able to have the functions of turning it on and off.
    -----
    place the sound on the root timeline of a SWF. add enough frames to see the entire sound's waveform. set it to stream sync. choose a bit rate that is lower than your target audience's connection speed.