Do you know ASP?
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Do you know ASP?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    3

    Question

    i have a small proble min getting variable to pass correcly from ASP to Flash. Using Response.write "&fieldname=" +data
    where data is a string puts everything after the = in to Flash, in this case, " +data.
    does anybody know how to get the stuff to pass to Flash properly, if data = "hello", in this case it should pass, &fieldname=hello. Why is this not the case?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    62

    Cool


    I think you need:

    Response.write "&fieldname=" & data

    NOT

    Response.write "&fieldname=" + data




    JR


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    3

    Post


    Response.write "&fieldname=" &data, just puts the " and ignores the data variable. It seems t obe a problem with Flash not seeing the response as a whole. I tried putting it into a variable first but this returns the same. Even if you remove the response.write and just assign "&fieldname=" +data to a variable it does the same again.



  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    62

    Wink


    Well here's a piece of the exact ASP code that I've used in various ASP/Flash projects and it works without any problems.

    Set rs = Conn.Execute("select text from table1 ")
    counter = ("0")
    Do until rs.eof
    counter = counter + 1
    item = rs("text")
    Returnstring = "&Result" & counter & "=" & item
    Response.Write(ReturnString)
    rs.Movenext
    loop

    rs.Close
    conn.close

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    3

    Post

    many thanks for this. It stil lseems to have problems but as the ASP code is correct I think that maybe the call from Flash is incorrect. I am using GetURL LoadVariables into level 0 using POST and pointing it to the ASP page that I holds my script. Correct or not???

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    62

    Post


    Hi,

    I used the load movie command, with the load variables option checked, select target option (but just leave it blank) and don't send variables.......it looks like this:

    Load Variables ("myfile.asp", "")

    Hope that helps

    JR


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width


HTML5 Development Center

Poll by Flashkit.com