A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: browsers I just dont get it?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    4
    Ive created my website it works
    in netscape that is, however when I use explorer
    it trys to download a swf file instead
    of playing it. could someone tell me why that is.

    heres my website address

    http://www.blockmedia.com
    after the preloader click on portfolio
    and then the page will download that is if your using
    explorer

    if you send a reply and
    i dont answer back with a thank you dont get annoyed its just im haveing problems with my post.

    thanks
    club13

    heres my website address if you want to check outthe site


    http://www.blockmedia.com
    After the preloader click on portfolio
    and then the page will download that is if your using
    explorer

    I was thinking the problem might be caused
    not only by my stupidity but because I
    put all my swf files
    in one directory.

  2. #2
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Timeline,Frame No.260
    Posts
    1,365
    em...its working perfect for me.it opened the portfolio page ..here it has acrhitec,animations,misc,2d...
    but it did take a lot of time...is IE 6 i am using

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    2,943
    I see what you mean. At work I'm using IE5 and when you click on portfolio it tries to download the SWF, as you said.

    What code have you put on that button?

  4. #4
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Timeline,Frame No.260
    Posts
    1,365
    Originally posted by Sualdam
    I see what you mean. At work I'm using IE5 and when you click on portfolio it tries to download the SWF, as you said.

    What code have you put on that button?
    yup...something wrong with your button, cuz when i clicked it...the address bar changed to index2.swf..means on the button u have some thing like:

    on(release)
    {
    getURL("index2.swf")
    }


    i *think*

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    2,943
    I checked your SWF in my temp folder and I think the problem is that you used this on your portfolio button:
    Code:
    on (press){
        getURL("http://www.blockmedia.com/index2.swf", "");
    }
    The code should actually be exactly what mustafapracha suggested in his post above. You don't need to specify the server because if the files are all in the same place they'll be found.

  6. #6
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    You should publish both the html and swf files from flash and upload both of them, then on the buttons instead of getURL("index2.swf"); as mustafapracha suggested (I think he's right with that ) you should use

    on (release) {
    getURL("index2.html");
    }

    where index2.html is the html page that has index2.swf embeded in it.

  7. #7
    I'm using IE6 and get the download popup.

    Just for info


    Cheers

    Danny

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center