dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Flying Across Screen - Flash Ads....how to do this?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    102
    Has anyone out there ever seen those flash ads that fly across your screen on like a layer of some kind? DHTML? Does anyone know how to do this or how it is done...like what does the script consist of and how to build a flash file to do this sort of thing? Who does this stuff?

    I saw one a yahoo.com...it just came out of nowhere and flashed an ad for about 10 seconds and then it was gone....it was totally seemless and was fully interactive.

    How can I do this?

    Thanks guys!

  2. #2
    Vox = Voice Vox98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    879
    Its a transparent window with flash. Make your flash movie, go to publish settings>windowless transparent

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,849
    I admit I don't know much about this, but I don't think that really answers the question.

    Although publishing as transparent windowless will show a background color or image through (IE only), it will not make the Flash appear to be above normal HTML text or graphics. Or at least, it doesn't seem to work that way when I export transparent windowless.

    Can someone be bit more specific on how this is done?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    16
    Best thing to do is pull apart the code on the page that you saw it on. I am pretty sure it is a DHTML thing though. Dreamweaver has some pretty cool timed controls over layers that combined with Flash could be the "how". (Those ads drive me nuts by the way.)


    Roto

  5. #5
    Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    The Bluegrass State Will Flash For Food ™
    Posts
    3,789
    i havn't tried it but it looks like it's just javascript and layers, nothing fancy... layer.moveTo(x,y)

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    I bet you it's moving a popup window with an embedded .swf.

  7. #7
    Vox = Voice Vox98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    879
    Originally posted by oldnewbie
    I bet you it's moving a popup window with an embedded .swf.
    Thank you Oldnewbie

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Hey! Soon to be a Heavyweight yourself Vox! Congrats!

  9. #9
    Vox = Voice Vox98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    879
    Thanx Oldnewbie. On that note, this is my 1000th post, and its being posted here in the help forums where I originated from!!

    It was a long road, but Im here.
    Cheers

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,849
    Wouldn't a popup window (even a transparent one) bring up a new taskbar item? Most of the Flash ads like this I've seen don't do that.

    Someone go find one and post a link so we can figure it out for sure!

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397
    Most of the ones I remember seeing were naked windows, borderless, which only worked with IE.

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Montréal, Québec.
    Posts
    25,397

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center