dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dummy Sites Pro/Cons

VIP Member
    I am just starting out in web design and recently someone on these message boards told me to make some Dummy sites to put into my portfolio.

Basically what he said was to create a site that I designed and made that would be put in my portfolio but is not really for a client just what I made up and created my self.

But im not really sure if I should make some dummy sites of just find some work so if you could give me some pro's and con's for dummy sites and also some advice ive been thinking about this for quite some time not and I need some help.

An Inconvenient Serving Size hurricaneone's Avatar
    I don't see the problem with doing dummy sites to build a portfolio - I mean, it's unfortunate that you can't find a paying customer, but the first customer is sometimes the most difficult to land.

Anyway, maybe doing dummy sites'll allow you to get into things that a 'corporate' or 'professional' site wouldn't allow. That could offer the chance to learn, experiment and impress, though if you're planning on landing the corporate deals, keep the eye-candy demos under wraps until after they've signed the contract.

_
    i make demo sites.. to show what i can do.. demo navigation... demo graphics.. things like that

The Minister of No Crap

Originally posted by mikecoutermarsh
    i make demo sites.. to show what i can do.. demo navigation... demo graphics.. things like that
    I think you and GrantUnwin mean the same thing when you say "demo" and he says "dummy".

Making some "sample" sites is a good idea. If you have no work to show, why would I hire you? I have no idea if you're any good or not.

-scott

_
    yes, but i make the demos for the client thats consedering me.. ive ogtten emails saying "i really like your work, but do you have any examples of this style"

so i make up quick little demos to show that i can do that

The Minister of No Crap