A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beziers

?
    Hi!

I've made a drawingAPI that draws beziers with an unlimited number of controll points. Now, I've solved this with geometry and not algebra since I'm not that good at math. But this is very slow... To draw a bezier with four controll points it takes 60ms, while it takes less then 15ms with this code:

Code:
    onClipEvent(enterFrame){
    	for (i=0;i<50;i++) this["d"+i].BezierPosition(bezier1, i/50)
    }
    ...and...
    Code:
    Object.prototype.BezierPosition = function(bez, t){
    	t = Math.min(Math.max(t,0),1)

var c = 3* (bez.x1 - bez.x0)
    	var b = 3* (bez.x2 - bez.x1) - c
    	var a = bez.x3 - bez.x0 - c - b
    	this._x = a*t*t*t + b*t*t + c*t + bez.x0

c = 3* (bez.y1 - bez.y0)
    	b = 3* (bez.y2 - bez.y1) - c
    	a = bez.y3 - bez.y0 - c - b
    	this._y = a*t*t*t + b*t*t + c*t + bez.y0
    }
    (this code was written by someone at this board by I don't remember the name right now)

Well.. I could translate this to my drawingAPI, but this is only for four controll points... What about n controll points? With 5 controll points I know that the last line should be:
    Code:
    this._y = a*t*t*t*t + b*t*t*t + c*t*t + d*t + bez.y0
    but other then that I don't understand much...

anyone?

.bobo

but this is only for four controll points... What about n controll points? With 5 controll points I know that the last line should be:
    As I know, Bezier curve consists of 1 startPoint, 1 controlPoint for startPoint, 1 endPoint and 1 controlPoint for endPoint. There are 4 points.

I dont know what do you mean by "5 control points" ?

?
    Originally posted by ericlin
    As I know, Bezier curve consists of 1 startPoint, 1 controlPoint for startPoint, 1 endPoint and 1 controlPoint for endPoint. There are 4 points.

I dont know what do you mean by "5 control points" ?
    I just posted a long replay to this, but when I was about to send it, it just dissapeared... =(