dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] [Resolved] recursion and parsing X

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    285

    working code

    Any XML will do. Its working code. You just have to set the root XML node to parse from. Example:
    Code:
    // 
    x = 0;
    // 
    // 
    function doXML(whichXML, x, nodePass) {
        while (whichXML[x].hasChildNodes) {
            // error correction
            whichXML[x].ignoreWhite = true;
            if (String(whichXML[x].nodeName) == "null" ) {
                whichXML[x].removeNode();
            }
            // the meat
            this[v] = whichXML[x].childNodes[0].nodeValue;
            v = string(nodePass+whichXML[x].nodeName+"_"+(x));
            // recurse
            doXML(whichXML[x].childNodes, 0, string(v+"."));
            x++;
        }
    }
    // set the root node here.
    theXML = theXML.childNodes[2].childNodes;
    // 
    doXML(theXML, 0, "");

    The number i'm refering to is v . The function should parse through each subtree starting at 1 for each node name. Its not doing that right now, and I'm a bit stumped. Thanks VAYKENT, for taking a look at this. Also, watch the x param in the function call.

    enjoy

    tutash
    [Edited by tutash on 08-21-2002 at 04:57 PM]

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    1,112

    Uhm...

    Wow - we've hit two pages!!!

    I wonder how many people we'll lose cause the page numbers are so small...

    Yeah - I'll try to remember to take a look at it tonight...

  3. #23
    New Title:
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    87

    silly rabbit

    Scope the variable x inside your function:

    Code:
    // don't scope it here!!!
    // x = 0;
    
    // don't pass in x:
    function doXML(whichXML, nodePass) {
      // scope it here:
      var x = 0;
      ...
    }

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    285

    Re: silly rabbit

    Originally posted by shoehorn
    Scope the variable x inside your function:

    Code:
    // don't scope it here!!!
    // x = 0;
    
    // don't pass in x:
    function doXML(whichXML, nodePass) {
      // scope it here:
      var x = 0;
      ...
    }
    i really didn't need to scope x
    the param(x) in the function will = 0 each time the function is called, but not while child nodes exist

    Code:
    function doXML(whichXML, x, nodePass) {
        while (whichXML[x].hasChildNodes) {
            ...
        //note that param(x) = 0
            ...
            doXML(whichXML[x].childNodes, 0, string(v+"."));
            x++;
        }
    }
    // the initial node is set here.
    theXML = theXML.childNodes[2].childNodes;
    //note that param(x) = 0
    doXML(theXML, 0, "");
    this makes each recursion start from 0. the recursive function treats each node as the root of a tree. i think the script is running in preorder tranversal, but i need to trace my output for that. i think it may not be abstract enough...

    here's the corrected script, sorry about that.
    Code:
    function doXML(whichXML, x, nodePass) {
        while (whichXML[x].hasChildNodes) {
            // error correction
            whichXML[x].ignoreWhite = true;
            if (String(whichXML[x].nodeName) == "null" ) {
                whichXML[x].removeNode();
            }
            // the meat
            v = string(nodePass+whichXML[x].nodeName+"_"+(x));
            this[v] = whichXML[x].childNodes[0].nodeValue;
            // recurse - note that param(x) = 0
            doXML(whichXML[x].childNodes, 0, string(v+"."));
            x++;
        }
    }
    // set the root node here.
    theXML = theXML.childNodes[2].childNodes;
    //note that param(x) = 0
    doXML(theXML, 0, "");
    still trying.

    enjoy

    tutash
    [Edited by tutash on 08-22-2002 at 11:31 AM]

  5. #25
    ...in human form
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    188
    Okay I've read this thread now a few times and am just having difficulty applying it to what I'm working on. Hope you guys can help. Here's an object I have:

    Variable _level0.series1 = [object #1] {
    title:"test",
    date:"test",
    extent:"test",
    scope:"test",
    subseries1:[object #2] {
    title:"test",
    date:"test",
    extent:"test",
    scope:"test",
    file1:[object #3] {
    title:"test",
    date:"test",
    extent:"test",
    scope:"test",
    type:"Folder"
    },
    file2:[object #4] {
    title:"test",
    date:"test",
    extent:"test",
    scope:"test",
    type:"Folder"
    }
    }
    }

    Now I need to put it into an XML object and need to be able to have more than one series with similar children. Suggestions?


  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    285
    just bumping to see if anyone has made progress in this area.

    enjoy

    tutash

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center