A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [Resolved] Why does loadMovie and loadVars stop my movie?

  1. #1
    Media Developer CJElven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    298
    I have a problem that whenever I use the loadMovie command, or the loadVars command, my movie completely stops until the objects so loaded are COMPLETELY loaded, thus making my loading bar extremely superfluous, not to mention making my movie look like it's broken. Does anyone know why this is happening, or how to get around it? I've tried to ignore it so far, but I've finally given up. Help?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    1,838
    Could you post the code or the link to your movie ?

  3. #3
    Media Developer CJElven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    298
    Here's my code, for better or worse.

    Code:
    factsHolder = new loadVars();
    factsHolder.load("factsenglish.txt");
    factsHolder.onLoad = function(success) {
    	if (success) {
    		numFactsArray = factsHolder.numFacts.split("|");
    	}
    };
    Can anyone see why it would stop on the frame that this ActionScript appears on, and why it would do the same thing with loadMovie?

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    The Bluegrass State Will Flash For Food ™
    Posts
    3,789
    is the movie fully loaded before you try to load vars/clips?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    419
    ALWAYS!!! call load after any methods, move yourload method below your onLoad event handler

  6. #6
    Media Developer CJElven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    298
    Alright, that seems to have solved my loadVars problem. However, I'm not sure, because I'm on a much faster connection here than at home, so I think that I'll need to check it at home. BUT...can I use the same onLoad method with loadMovie, or is there something else I need to do? Because I'm using the standard
    Code:
    if(newMovieClip.getBytesLoaded() == newMovieClip.getBytesTotal()){
    gotoAndPlay("start");}
    else{gotoAndPlay("clipPreload");}
    and it's freezing the same way when I actually do my
    Code:
    blah.loadMovie("process/intro.swf");
    , even though my if(getBytesLoaded()) statement is 10 frames later. Any ideas?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center