A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Pop up DW window from flash

  1. #1
    This could be possibly my last question for a while...its the only problem I have thats in the way of me relaunching my site, when I relaunch it I will post a link here so you can see what you have been helping me do over the last 2 weeks.

    Anyway the problem is something I posted earlier about how to open a Dreamweaver window from Flash AT A CERTAIN SIZE,

    someone said I should use this code with the "Get URL" action,

    javascript:newWindow=window.open('pagename.html',' newWin','width=400,height=300');void(0);"

    I typed ALL of that and it wouldn't work, am I not supposed to type ALL of it? (I know about having to change "pagename" to my own custom name)...can anyone see what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282

  3. #3
    Senior Member nepdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    960
    I dont know how you did it but the button should have an action something like this:

    on(release) {
    geturl("javascript:window.open('pagename.html','ne wWin','width=400,height=300');void(0);");
    }

  4. #4
    Yeah thanks mate, you posted that last time I asked but it seems to make a complicated task of a simple problem. All I want is to change the size, I tried filling in the mass of details but all I get is a page that looks like their own where as I am wanting my own window to to open up with my files on it.

    Can you explain how to use it to get what I want?

    Or if anyelse knows of a simple action script?

  5. #5
    nepdude, yeah i have done that but theres something wrong with the code

  6. #6
    Senior Member nepdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    960
    that always works for me.

    What exactly is the error?

  7. #7
    I PASTE in the code, but when tested the new pop up window does not display anything, its just clear white. It doesn't say it cannot find it, it just does nothing.

  8. #8
    Senior Member nepdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    960
    recheck! looks like the .swf file inside the html file is not correctly embedded. The pop-up is working correctly. There is something wrong with the html somewhere.
    Open the file on its own (not from the flash button). See if it opens ok. My guess is that it does the same even if opened directly.

  9. #9
    I tried but it opens fine. Is there not a more simple action script to do such a task?

    Also I use "on press" rather than "on release", this isn't the problem is it?

    thanks

  10. #10
    Senior Member nepdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    960
    I hope you tried by opening the html file that contains the swf and not the .swf file itself.

    onpress / onrelease is the same in this case.

  11. #11
    hold on - the file I am opening is a HTML file BUT it doesn't have a swf. file?

  12. #12
    Got it to work at last!, only problem now is that my pop up has scroll bars!, could you edit the code so that it has no scroll bars please?

    thanks!

  13. #13
    Moderator enpstudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Tampa, Fl.
    Posts
    11,282
    In the HTML of the popped page, Inside the body tag use this:

    scroll=no

  14. #14
    You need to put it in the opening body tag:


    <body scroll=no>

    Sorry I edited your reply instead of replying

    Edited by estudioworks


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center