dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: This is a tricky one (need a lot of ideas/help)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    27
    The thing is i have a site about the band Heresy.
    On that site you can see pictures of the band.

    What I want to do is that when you click on an image, it comes up in a new window, with no toolbars, just arrows so you can scroll among the pictures in that small window.

    The window i guess would have to be some sort of html document that pops up, but what do i write in flash to achieve a pop up without toolbar. I think it is very tricky. How about you?


    http://www.heresy.tk

  2. #2
    Senior Member nepdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    960
    I think it's very easy.

    just convert the image into a button and use this action

    on(release){
    geturl("javascript:window.open('newpage.html','win Name','width=500 height=240');void(0)");
    }

    where newpage.html is the name of the file that should open in the popup.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    27
    i get two browser windows that open and one of them just has
    [object] in it

  4. #4
    Senior Member nepdude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    960
    Are you sure? It always works for me. Are you sure you included this part? void(0) That is the part that makes the original page stay the same and not change into [object].

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    118
    That should only happen when you "test movie" and not once you publish it in an html page. When you use "test movie" the flash animation isn't in an html page, so it pops up two windows.

    Furthermore, add a space after the semicolon and add a semicolon after the void(0) statement, just to be certain the javascript isn't parsed wrongly.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    27
    alright it works now on my hardrive but when i upload it and test no browser window comes up, instead you get the usual error message in the same browser window.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center