dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: more news on the infamouse wink2k sp3

  1. #1
    Senior Member CrashedStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    197
    i've just formatted and reinstalled win2k - got to windows update and to my surprise found the only service pack update was sp3 - sp1 and sp2 are included, so it says

    and it's a HUGE 40mb update... so people who adiment not to upgrade have this in mind if you ever need to format

    cs

  2. #2
    Senior Member CrashedStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    197
    excuse my dislexia - if a mod would be so kind...

    cs

  3. #3
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    it's still downloadable, SP2 that is...

    just gotta search around, sometimes crashed

  4. #4
    The Flashkit Mama
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    887
    i dont want to upgrade to sp3 as i heard it contains backdoor , satisfied with my now settings , and dont know how many holes will the new sp2 brings along with it .

    read this thread sp3 discussion on Flashkit

  5. #5
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    erm, abir. no disrespect, but MOST of Windows has a backdoor...

    Win2k SP3 was the first time they put it in writing... Microsoft is too full of security holes, things that broadcast, and what not to be considered a truly safe/secure OS. SP3 does no more than when you do Windows Update... or MS Office Active Update... same thing man.

    </rant>

  6. #6
    Senior Member CrashedStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    197
    Originally posted by gerbick
    it's still downloadable, SP2 that is...

    just gotta search around, sometimes crashed
    now you tell me

    cs

  7. #7
    The Flashkit Mama
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    887
    Originally posted by gerbick
    erm, abir. no disrespect, but MOST of Windows has a backdoor...

    Win2k SP3 was the first time they put it in writing... Microsoft is too full of security holes, things that broadcast, and what not to be considered a truly safe/secure OS. SP3 does no more than when you do Windows Update... or MS Office Active Update... same thing man.

    </rant>
    what to do gerbick , what to do then migrate to linux ???

  8. #8
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    what do you do? linux, mac, or vocally start not supporting Microsoft.

    it's like that with any defective goods. you hit their pockets, you get their attention.

    RHCE, here I come...

  9. #9
    The Flashkit Mama
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    887
    Originally posted by gerbick
    what do you do? linux, mac, or vocally start not supporting Microsoft.

    it's like that with any defective goods. you hit their pockets, you get their attention.

    RHCE, here I come...
    cable net service in my area , everything is going my way but sometime i do get mad when i c people attacking me (URLSCAN) y microsoft products r so much expose to them when i m patch with the latest fixes and i hav everything installed what the microsoft people wants me to install y (ok i lied dont hav sp3 ) but still w2k is handy , yes i m learning new things day by day but these fellows making me mad n e software out there to bust them

  10. #10
    FK Official Postman
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Rockville, MD / UCSanDiego
    Posts
    827
    Originally posted by aabirnisar
    n e software out there to bust them
    blackice firewall should help keep them out...


  11. #11
    Flash Kit Moderator Genesis F5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Unallocated memory
    Posts
    1,845
    I was curious... Once you "bust" them, what do you do then with their IP? Contact your ISP?


    Is installing SP3 a go or no go?


    -genesis f5 (genesis mx)

  12. #12
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    blackice, and other consumer firewall programs do not filter out all *.dll communicatins, as well as services that have port allowances already.

    you can piggyback communications on SMTP, port 25, out on servers that grant access to that service already... as well as other TCP/IP communicative services...

    look into Checkpoint for full coverage...

  13. #13
    The Flashkit Mama
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Karachi , Pakistan
    Posts
    887
    Originally posted by Genesis F5
    I was curious... Once you "bust" them, what do you do then with their IP? Contact your ISP?


    Is installing SP3 a go or no go?


    -genesis f5 (genesis mx)
    i think i get 20~30 hits daily from different IP's its hard to call every isp and complain them , what i think that these whatever generous people dont use there accounts , meaning fake its and all but yes they can be caught if the ISP hav the last dialout number for that account , but what if they might be using some1 elses phone line also , man no one can spare u this much time to find the culprits . keep them coming . and dont sav valuables on your pc

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center