dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Moving outside the stage - how?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    7
    I remember some ads from qwest and ford that were displayed on MSN a few times that had part of the clip running outside the stage. Anybody know how they did that?

    I remember a banner moved down from the stage and displayed info on with the qwest ad.

    And I want to use it on a navigation menu
    but my site is built on asp.net
    its not entirely flash
    so i need to insert it on the aspx page

    any idea? thanyou.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10
    dont know the ads but could it be that it nothing was actually outside the stage, but part of the stage used a transparent background?

    Nex

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    7
    mmmh, I couldn't say really...

    imagine you have a movie of 150 x 150 pixels
    inside a table in HTML
    and you need to "expand" the movie to 300 x 300 px, over the html page (a new layer maybe?), but not opening a new window (like using javascript)

    is it possible?

    i'm building a menu to navigate the worldmap
    but i've got little space so if i let the movie
    150 x 150 pix, it is kind of small to click over the countries.....

    you can see it at http://w2.abtour.com.uy

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    116
    I know what you mean...very cool

    One possiblity is to set the swf file to transparent in the html code, and have the swf reside in a layer above the rest of the site content. So basically, the flash is covering a larger portion of the screen then it appears.

    Next time you see it, right-click quick while the flash is playing anywhere on the screen and you might see that 'About Macromedia Flash' appear, even though html content is there.

    Don't get layer in an html page confused with a layer in flash.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    7
    i get what you say
    i'll try it tomorrow,
    now's too late & i'm tired
    thanx

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10
    may i ask where you found such a nice vector image of the countries? i've been trying to find something similar for aaages.

    i can find lots of bitmap stuff but it translates badly into vector.

    excellent useability in the map btw - love it!

    Nex


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    7
    good question!

    I looked for it for about a month, I knew Corel Clipart had the worldmaps traced as vectors, so after asking and asking, I found a guy who had the disks.....

    do you want me to send them to you?


  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    10
    please yes

    the only vector progs i have are illustrator & flash so in a format readable by either of those would be appreciated.

    nex@ylum.com

    Nex


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center