A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: saving info

  1. #1
    Senior Member danleroux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    183
    ok, I tried this question a few times and no response so here goes again in a different way!

    I have an application to do. Standalone. This application will be installed on 5 machines in a classroom with a network. I want to do the application in Flash cause I love it!

    what it is, is that people will sit at the stations to do a test. Once the test is done the result are sent to a database that resides on the main server computer in the network.

    My question is How will I send the info to the database. I can't use php, cold fusion ect... because this isn't online and is not in a browser it's an .exe file.

    I know this is kind of a class on it's own, but all I'm looking for is a direction! is this possible? where should I look for help?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Lifetime Friend of Site Staff Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766

    I know that one of my customers has written a networked test application in Flash. He stores the test results in text files and INI files in a central location on the server. The data is primitively encrypeted to stop snoopy students from seeing/modifying their test results. He did it all with the FileSys and INIFile plugins in SWF Studio (www.northcode.com). It may not be as cool or secure as using a database, but it works and has been working for almost a year now


  3. #3
    FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    2,245
    I have also done what Northcode has suggested using SWF Studio. It works great. If you want to use a database, you can install Apache Web Server on the main computer along with PHP. Then just use the other computers to connect with http://computername or ip address/file.php. I have done this before and it works great even without an internet connection.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    219
    Using ini like NorthCode suggested is good but if you really want a true solution, then you should consider using a True Database system, and Flash 'N Pack has a built in one, a DataBase system that doesn't require any ADO driver or MS Access or any other files it is simply a stand alone system that will work on any Windows system win95 and up...

    get it here:

    http://www.flashnpack.com

    also don't forget to visit:

    http://www.flashnpack.com/help to get started with your development..
    if you still have questions you can always reach me at http://www.flashnpack.com/forum

    have fun.

  5. #5
    Lifetime Friend of Site Staff Northcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Whitehorse YT
    Posts
    3,766

    I couldn't find any demos, docs or details other than a thread in the FNP support forums that said the database solution only works with dBase III files (and up). Using the CodeBase engine Jay? Does the DB support come bundled with the trial version or is it a separate download.


    [Edited by Northcode on 09-08-2002 at 02:51 AM]

  6. #6
    Banned By GMF Wannabe Gambini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    976

    Easy...

    Hi, I'm sorry I didn't reply to this earlier - what you need is Flash Studio PRO - it's completely FREE and you can connect directly to an access database locally or over a network. You can run SQL statements and all of this with just 2 or 3 lines of code.

    You can download Flash Studio from http://www.multidmedia.com

    It also lets you fully customize the flash projector and also boasts over 55 other fscommands. You can download a sample projectors and their source code (including one that demonstrates Database connectivity) from http://www.multidmedia.com/fls/downloads

    I think this will be just what you're looking for. Enjoy!


  7. #7
    Senior Member danleroux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    183

    thanks

    thanks guys!

    it looks like you are all trying to sell me a different product. And I'm sure they are all great....THANKS

    But I think Gambini got me.
    Flash'n'pack looks awesome as well but all the sample files are missing and most of the sample aren't done. Maybe along the way I'll switch but for now I'll go for Flash Studio!

    I downloaded it a while ago, saw how the database works...
    pretty simple but I couldn't see how it connected over a network only locally, I guess I'll look closer...unless someone throws me another bone!

    Thanks Again guys

    I can't believe this place (FK) it's always good and free advice!

  8. #8
    Banned By GMF Wannabe Gambini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    976
    Originally posted by danleroux
    I couldn't see how it connected over a network only locally, I guess I'll look closer...unless someone throws me another bone!
    Sure, instead of using flashstudio.connecttodb, use flashstudio.connecttodb_abs and then you can enter either a network path, or an absolute path.

    Hope this helps!


  9. #9
    FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    2,245
    Why not just use the free PHP solution. It is just as powerful as Gambini's Flash Studio Pro and has a lot better technical support.

  10. #10
    Banned By GMF Wannabe Gambini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    976
    Jasonsplace, using a databse is more secure and certainly a lot neater. Also, we have had nothing but praise for our level of support and our product is free for personal use which makes it the perfect answer to danleroux's original question.

    Good luck with your project.



    [Edited by Gambini on 09-08-2002 at 06:49 PM]

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    219
    Originally posted by jasonsplace
    Why not just use the free PHP solution. It is just as powerful as Gambini's Flash Studio Pro and has a lot better technical support.
    Doesn't PHP Require a Server?

    I think danleroux had clearly said:
    My question is How will I send the info to the database. I can't use php, cold fusion ect... because this isn't online and is not in a browser it's an .exe file.
    Maybe you miss read his message.. Oh well it happens..

    to: danleroux
    Flash 'N Pack is constantly updated.. if the sample aren’t clear, don't stop there. you can always join the discussion forum at http://www.flashnpack.com/forum and ask all your questions, and they will be answered promptly...
    Thanks for considering Flash 'N Pack.

  12. #12
    FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    2,245
    I read his message and understood it perfectly. Maybe you didnt read my message explaining how he could do it.
    Gambini,
    If people like your tech support, than you must not be in it. You cant tell me you already forgot about our earlier run in. Is your version that is free for personal use crimpled in any version. Also, PHP communicates with a MySQL Database so it is just as secure as your other method.

  13. #13
    Banned By GMF Wannabe Gambini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    976
    Originally posted by jasonsplace
    If people like your tech support, then you must not be in it.
    You have taken a disliking to me and your pursuit to try and discourage the popularity of Flash Studio is simply out of spite.

    To answer your question, the personal edition is NOT crippled in any way, and I invite you to download a copy and try it for yourself - I mean really, isn't that the only way to evaluate a product?

    There was a legitimate question asked in this thread and several solutions provided. Comments like the one above are unnecessary.


  14. #14
    FK's Official Mac Hater jasonsplace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    2,245
    I'm sorry Gambini, can you please send me an E-mail to jasonsplace@go.com and let me kno when the new release is available. I have a dial-up connection so I'll wait until then, download it, and then critique it fairly.

  15. #15
    Banned By GMF Wannabe Gambini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    976
    No problem, we're working hard to try and get the update out by this Friday, give or take a day or two.

    I'll let you know as soon as it's available. Thanks.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    153
    Using ini like NorthCode suggested is good but if you really want a true solution, then you should consider using a True Database system
    Whatever gets the job done correctly and efficiently IS the "true solution"! A "True Database system" is not the only way to solve this problem nor is it necessarily the best way!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center