A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: can't seem to make button work in movie clip

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Question

    All right what have is a movie clip of some buttons within a scene of a swf .
    The “main menu” is just some text I wanted to display (a movie clip within the movie clip) that works fine.
    What I want to is go to a frame in another scene.
    The problem is when I go to the actions for the button within the movie clip it wont even display the scenes to go to.


    On (Roll Over)
    Begin Tell Target ("main menu")
    Go to and Play (2)
    End Tell Target
    End On
    On (Roll Out)
    Begin Tell Target ("main menu")
    Go to and Stop (1)
    End Tell Target
    End On
    On (Release)
    Go to and Stop (contatcs, 80)
    End On



    but it just wont work



    [This message has been edited by joebudda (edited 29 March 2000).]

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    36

    Post

    that is because your button isn't on the main timeline....i had troubles with this....you have to link the button to the main timeline and then from their you can go to another scene....

    in the button actions you need to have :-

    On(Rollover)
    Begin Tell Target ("_level0)
    Got to and stop ("6")
    end tell target
    end on

    Level0 = tells it to go to the main timeline

    6 = the label of the frame it goes to on the main timeline

    then you make a frame in the main timeline anywhere which is labeled 6 in this case and contains = Go to and Stop (Scene 5, 1) in the actions......5,1 being the scene and frame you want it to go to.......

    the only thing to remember is to make sure that if you have a couple of button to do this to make sure the frames they link to are on different frames.....

    happy flashing

    mike



    ------------------
    Take advantage of what you have because you could loose it in a second.....21/03/00
    <EMBED src="/cgi-bin/ubb/Members/sigs/00000773.swf" quality=high WIDTH=350 HEIGHT=60 TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"> </EMBED>

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Post

    All right now I am getting out of the “movie clip” (half the battle I hope)

    But the question I have now is in labeling the frame on the “go to” action.
    So is it looking for a labeled frame (in the frame properties, where you can label the individual frame)
    Or is it the actual frame number.

    I am sure it goes to the frame number
    But I might be wrong

    All I know is the button within the “movie clip” now jumps around the middle of the scene
    I put in the “go to” action for the button within the “movie clip” frame #1090 (because that was the first frame that is not in the body of the main scene)
    Is my scene too big maybe “that is what she said” (sorry couldn’t help myself)

    I don’t think I am making any sense

    On (Roll Over)
    Begin Tell Target ("main menu")
    Go to and Play (2)
    End Tell Target
    End On
    On (Roll Out)
    Begin Tell Target ("main menu")
    Go to and Stop (1)
    End Tell Target
    End On
    On (Release)
    Begin Tell Target ("_level0")
    Go to and Stop (1090)
    End Tell Target
    End On

    I have got a frame labeled “1090” in a frame 1090 on the timeline
    But for some reason I am not getting to that frame

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    20

    Thumbs up

    first off i would like to thank you Mike

    i just got it working now
    this is how

    On (Release)
    Begin Tell Target ("_level0")
    Go to and Play (scene 2, 80)
    End Tell Target
    End On

    thanks again Mike
    you where a great help

    joe

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    36

    Post

    No problem at all mate.....

    The only thing you have to remember with my guidelines is that i make sure i give a step by step, tutorial if you like, and if you follow that exactly while taking in what you are actually doing it all works out fine

    see ya around

    take it easy

    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center