dcsimg
A Flash Developer Resource Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: HEEEELP! video drivers = locked up computer

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    Well, after building my new computer i've had nothing but problems. Every time I install the video drivers for the video card (G-force 3ti) it will run for a few minutes and then lock up. Sometimes it will recover to a garbled screen that I can barely use and be in 16colors, and sometimes it just restarts itself.

    I have looked in the system log and found that nv4_disp.dll is running an infinite loop about the time the machine locks up.

    The system is:
    Motheboard: Soyo P4S Dragon Ultra
    Processor: Intel p4 2.0Ghz
    Vid. Card: Xtasy G-Force 3ti
    OS: Xp professional, SP1
    Direct X v. 8.1

    I have tried the latest drivers from Soyo, Nvidia, Microsoft, and just about anything else I can think of, but i'm stumped.

    The computer runs fine until you install the drivers for the video card.
    I've been racking my brain on this all night and most of yesterday and cant find a solution
    does anybody have ANY suggestions at all?

    -Justin

  2. #2
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    As a side note, i ran SANDRA (diagnostic program) and its telling me my motherboard is running too hot at 74 degrees, wich i dont seem to see a problem with. I thought it should be about room temp


  3. #3

    raising hell to the next level

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    114
    for once i thought you solved all your problems



  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    140
    74 degrees is room temp!!!!
    where do you live in the sahara?!

    but seriously, it might be 74 celcius
    hmmmm


  5. #5
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    ha! never!

    nice to see you too buddy

  6. #6
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    Originally posted by pissant
    74 degrees is room temp!!!!
    where do you live in the sahara?!

    but seriously, it might be 74 celcius
    hmmmm

    No but I live in FL, does that count?

    no, its not 76 in here, its cooler than that, but i'm not sure how the program reads, celc. or F.

    seem too hot? and if thats the case, why would it only do it with the drivers installed and work fine w/o them

    does it get hotter w/ the drivers installed or something

    This sucks, i have a TON of work for school do and i cant do it !

  7. #7
    supervillain gerbick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    undecided.
    Posts
    18,978
    Originally posted by pissant
    74 degrees is room temp!!!!
    where do you live in the sahara?!

    but seriously, it might be 74 celcius. hmmmm
    you must mean fahrenheit.

    anyway, I've talked to you about this juztin... I'm hoping that somebody else can help you out.

    people, it's the nvidia driver, nv4_disp.dll that's causing issues. it's causing the machine to fail.

    lannie? agp/pci routing issues? mobo bios flash perhaps? not downloading the newest detonator drivers?

  8. #8
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    ok you're right, 76 C, 168.8 F.

    i think its running a little warm

  9. #9

    raising hell to the next level

    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    114
    btw, i had a hard time getting a diamond viper II and a ati radeon to work with windows xp

    i need to get a new mother board i think

  10. #10
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    Just pulled the case apart, its not that hot at all, not even warm to the touch really

  11. #11

    In a cavern, in a canyon,
    Excavating for a mine,
    Dwelt a miner, forty-niner
    And his daughter Clementine.
    Oh my darling, Clementine

    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    288
    Sounds wonky, Juz - but it works ...

    1.) Download: DirectX Version - 8.1 for Windows 98 or Windows Millennium Edition (Me) operating system. DX81eng.exe - 12,145 Kb

    You can download file at:http://www.microsoft.com/directx/hom...ds/default.asp (I think)

    2.) Do a search in Registry Editor for Directx: Go to c:\windows\system32\regedt32.exe (open this)

    3.) Click, edit/find, type in directx (have all 3 boxes checked, under LOOK AT ) click "find next", F3 to continue search. Delete only what comes up highlighted! There's a-lot of them.

    4.) Go to C:\Windows\System32 Delete, DirectX and sub folder Dinput.

    5.) Reboot

    6.) Go to that file you downloaded DX81eng.exe - 12,145 Kb, right click, then choose properties. Click heading "Compatibility". Check box under "Compatibility Mode" +{arrow down for Windows 98 / Windows ME). Click apply.

    7.) Now run program DX81eng.exe

    Don't sweat it, Juz - the ice cream is with you ...


    Swwwweeeeeeet Petunia

  12. #12
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    wow, thanks Lan.

    downloading the dx exe file now (at 12kb/sec from microsoft..wassup w/ that?!)

    ill give it a whirl and see what happens.

    Just curious..how the HECK did you find that info? i've looked everywhere and come across nothing like this...

  13. #13

    In a cavern, in a canyon,
    Excavating for a mine,
    Dwelt a miner, forty-niner
    And his daughter Clementine.
    Oh my darling, Clementine

    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    288
    Originally posted by Juztin180
    Just curious..how the HECK did you find that info? i've looked everywhere and come across nothing like this...
    I see all ... I know all ... and I can completely disillusion myself if I try ...

  14. #14
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    Well, I hate to say it Lan, but that didnt work

    Its still hanging up. I just dont get it. what else is left to change?!
    I guess i'm getting closer to formatting, even though I dont think thats my problem b/c i have done that already a while back when i first started having this problem

    nothing like spending $500 on computer stuff and not having it work

  15. #15

    In a cavern, in a canyon,
    Excavating for a mine,
    Dwelt a miner, forty-niner
    And his daughter Clementine.
    Oh my darling, Clementine

    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    288
    Originally posted by Juztin180
    Well, I hate to say it Lan, but that didnt work

    Its still hanging up. I just dont get it. what else is left to change?!
    I guess i'm getting closer to formatting, even though I dont think thats my problem b/c i have done that already a while back when i first started having this problem

    nothing like spending $500 on computer stuff and not having it work
    Are you sure you did everything correctly? Seriously - you might wanna walk back through ~ it's worked for a bunch of people.

    Next, You might wanna check your IRQs - ... and check your mobo settings just to make sure everything's kosher ...

    Other than that ~ I'd start rolling back driver versions ~ I'm seein' ALOT of problems with XP and nv4 error ... and overclockers are having some luck with underclocking ...


  16. #16
    Anything. Anytime. Anywhere. aliensynergy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona.
    Posts
    163
    Originally posted by marcus_from_hell
    btw, i had a hard time getting a diamond viper II and a ati radeon to work with windows xp

    i need to get a new mother board i think
    I had probs with the Viper II also, its the drivers for XP not your motherboard. My viper II worked fine with win2k, but when I tried to upgrade to XP it would crash, not a LOT but enough to piss me off.

    Goodluck with the prob Juztin. Got a spare video card you could test on the new computer? Got a spare computer you could test the G-force 3ti on?

    Atleast narrow it down to the v-card.

  17. #17
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    I gave up on it last night at about 2am since i had to work this morning.

    I tried what Lansite said and it still locked up. I did everything she said in the post above, but I'll try it again when i get home

    Also, I have tried running a borrowed copy of win2k from my friend just to see if it was XP and it does the same thing.

    Now, I have been on the phone w/ my new room mate and he said he tried overclocking it for me. Why? I dont know...
    anyway, he said he tried to overclock the AGP slot in BIOS and right about then is when i started having problems. Does that have anything to do with what Gerbick said about the AGP/PCI routing?

    Everything was set back to normal and the jumper was used on the mobo to set the defaults back in BIOS. Then the Mobo was replaced by the company i bought it from. Also, in looking at the case this morning I noticed the heatsinks on the memory of the Video card are about ready to fall off! Looks like the glue came undone. But again, nothing seems to feel hot or anything inside the case. I have a case fan I'm going to throw on it today just to see if that helps.

    Maybe thats my issue (remind me to kill room-mate tonight )
    I'll check back in and see if you guys think that might be it when i get off work around 4 this afternoon.

    Thanks
    -Justin

  18. #18
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    No ideas, eh?

  19. #19
    FK Resident Amazon

    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    B-MORE!
    Posts
    288
    well i have no clue 'bout your prob there (sorry )


    but it's nice to see ya all the same!


    :wavey:




  20. #20
    Flashkits Non-Flasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    120
    Well, not even formatting helped it

    I give up..guess itll just have to run w/o the drivers or something..

    nothin like spending $500 on parts to have it not work


    Chelle! great to see ya too! :wavey:
    btw, that looks like an OT vb smilie...you on OT.net?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center