A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: loadvar works locally, but not online for some reason

  1. #1
    crunchier than granola.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    55
    see my sig at http://ncgn.steeped.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=83 then click mrjungle

    i am trying to loadVariablesNum ("http://www.mrjungle.com/flashvar.asp", 0);

    it works locally on my computer just fine. when i upload it to my server, it doesn't work. what gives?


  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,044
    Hi,

    a swf at stimuli.steeped.net will never load variables from http://www.mrjungle.com (due to security reasons) - it may load a movie, however, which in turn loads the vars

    Musicman

  3. #3
    crunchier than granola.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    55
    thanks for the tip!

  4. #4
    crunchier than granola.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    55

    no luck

    i took your advice and made a swf that loaded the vars. that swf was hosted at mrjungle.com. then i loaded that swf into the main swf. once again, it worked locally, but not online. i'm sure there is a way to do this...

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,044
    Hi,

    it should work if both movies are F5. If at least one of them is F6, you my have to add some System.security stuff to specifically allow the other domain

    Musicman

  6. #6
    crunchier than granola.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    55
    both are f5. could you take a look at the source fla's for me? you could even test out the swf on your computer, it will work locally, but not online.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    13,044
    Hi,

    I got it to work like that: (aux movie)
    // initial frame
    SongID = 0;
    loadVariablesNum('flashvar.php', 1, POST);
    // one blank frame
    // next frame
    if(SongID != 0)
    { _level0.artist = artist;
    _level0.song = song;
    _level0.songid = songid;
    _level0.songlink = songlink;
    stop();
    }
    else
    prevFrame();

    It does not like to load straight into level 0

    It is a very bad idea to reload the preferred artist every 100 and odd frames unless you intend to change them often. A few of those sigs on a page can severely affect someone with a slow computer or a slow link

    BTW: I cannot even test locally - every movie loads from the local server. However, macromedia's decision that localhost is different from my.computer.org and different from 127.0.0.1 gives an excellent testbed for 3rd party server restrictions

    Musicman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center