A Flash Developer Resource Site

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Form to post using asp

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    10
    Please Help!
    I am trying to create a form in flash for people to subscribe to my emaillist. I got someone to create an .asp for me, I just have to implement the actionscripts on the button in flash to have it talk to it. Nothing is working (but i did get dynamic text to work). I don't know what I am doing (or doing wrong) can somebody help?! I'm using Flash 5.

    I've created an "editable text" and variable and a button: I just think I might have the script wrong.


    I've tried the Get Url (POST):
    on (release) {
    getURL ("http://66.242.133.142/jcb/addemail.asp ", "Email", "POST");
    }


    orLoadVariable:
    on (release) {
    if (!Email.length || Email.indexOf("@") == -1 || Email.indexOf(".") == -1) {
    Message = "Please enter a valid E-mail address";
    } else {
    loadVariablesNum ("http://66.242.133.142/jcb/addemail.asp", "Email", "POST");
    Message = "Thank you for subscribing!";
    }
    }

    Can you see what I am doing wrong?
    The text form variable is "Email"
    can anyone help?!

    please.....


  2. #2
    ? tonytryout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Somewhere out there
    Posts
    864
    Don't use:
    on (release) {
    getURL ("http://66.242.133.142/jcb/addemail.asp ", "Email", "POST");
    }

    Use this instead:
    on (release) {
    loadVariableNum("http://66.242.133.142/jcb/addemail.asp ", 0, "POST");
    }

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    10
    Thanks for your help tony.
    but when I put that script in and checked to see if any data has been added to my file, it hasn't. hmmm. did i miss something?

    also i usually get a browser dialog box when i try to submit something saying it is not secure, auto-entering, etc. is something wrong if no dialog box happens?

    also, how does it know to "POST" the email data without a variable reference in the script?

  4. #4
    ? tonytryout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Somewhere out there
    Posts
    864
    Originally posted by alantheso
    Thanks for your help tony.
    but when I put that script in and checked to see if any data has been added to my file, it hasn't. hmmm. did i miss something?

    also i usually get a browser dialog box when i try to submit something saying it is not secure, auto-entering, etc. is something wrong if no dialog box happens?

    also, how does it know to "POST" the email data without a variable reference in the script?
    Of course you have to set up variables first, but it appears from what I can see in your code, it seems that "email" variable is set up.

    Did you specify an input textbox as "email"? (in the var box in properties).

    Let me know about the above.

    I have a similar code that I worked on a project two weeks ago but am currently having a mental blockage so I don't remember what the exact format should be. Unfortunately, it is not on my computer -- will have to wait till Monday.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    10
    hi tony-
    yes the variable in the input text is 'Email'. but do i reference this somewhere else too?! Sorry for my franticness but this website is launching thursday!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member catbert303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    11,222
    I don't know if this would be possible in your case, but when i'm making a flash form to submit something to a server side script I like to make the form in a movie clip to keep the variables I want to send separate from any other variables around the movie.

    Create a new clip in frame 1 of the clip put in your input textfields and put your submit button

    add a stop(); action to this frame

    on the button use

    on (release) {
    loadVariables("http://66.242.133.142/jcb/addemail.asp", this, "POST");
    }

    this should send all the variables contained in the movie clip to your asp script. It might also be a good idea to have the asp page return a variable to flash to indicate success or failure of the script. You can do that by having the ASP page write a variable to the page something like (sorry I don't know ASP so i'm not sure hoe you write stuff to the page)

    &done=okay&

    or

    &done=fail&

    in the movie clip you can have a frame loop that once the variables have been sent checks the value of the done variable to see whether the script worked or not.

  7. #7
    ? tonytryout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Somewhere out there
    Posts
    864
    Code:
    on (release) {
         loadVariablesNum("insert.asp", 0, "POST");
    }
    I am thinking... maybe you should not use the http:// bit. Just keep "addemail.asp", e.g.
    Code:
    on (release) {
         loadVariablesNum("addemail.asp", 0, "POST");
    }
    In addemail.asp file (using VBScript):
    Code:
    <%@LANGUAGE="VBSCRIPT"%>
    ' Connection
    <% YourDatabase_STRING = "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};DBQ=" + Server.mappath("/Databases/db_theDatabase.mdb") %>
    
    <%
    myQuery = "INSERT INTO contacts (Email) VALUES ('" & Request("Email") & "' )"
    
    ' execute the insert
    Set editCmd = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Command")
    editCmd.ActiveConnection = YourDatabase_STRING
    editCmd.CommandText = myQuery
    editCmd.Execute
    editCmd.ActiveConnection.Close
    %>
    That's it.you maye need to change the mappath depending on your web server. Of course you need to customise the database names and table name in the code here for your own use

    To view the contents of the database, create another file, view.asp:
    Code:
    <%@LANGUAGE="VBSCRIPT"%>
    ' Connection
    <% YourDatabase_STRING = "DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)};DBQ=" + Server.mappath("/Databases/db_theDatabase.mdb") %>
    
    <%
    set Recordset1 = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
    Recordset1.ActiveConnection = YourDatabase_STRING
    Recordset1.Source = "SELECT * FROM contacts"
    Recordset1.CursorType = 0
    Recordset1.CursorLocation = 2
    Recordset1.LockType = 3
    Recordset1.Open()
    Recordset1_numRows = 0
    %>
    <%
    Dim Repeat1__numRows
    Repeat1__numRows = -1
    Dim Repeat1__index
    Repeat1__index = 0
    Recordset1_numRows = Recordset1_numRows + Repeat1__numRows
    %>
    <HTML><TITLE>What's in the database I wonder?</TITLE><BODY>
    <% 
    While ((Repeat1__numRows <> 0) AND (NOT Recordset1.EOF)) 
    %>
    <TABLE>
     <tr>
       <%=(Recordset1.Fields.Item("Email").Value)%>
     </tr>
    
     <% 
       Repeat1__index=Repeat1__index+1
       Repeat1__numRows=Repeat1__numRows-1
       Recordset1.MoveNext()
       Wend
     %>
    </TABLE>
    <%
    Recordset1.Close()
    %>
    </BODY></HTML>
    Most of the database code in ASP files (e.g. SQL, connection, etc.) was easily generated by Dreamweaver Ultra for convinience.

    Any queries, feel free to post here.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    10
    i take it if i do that, the .asp need to be on the same server (and same folder?)

    could that also be what was giving me trouble?

  9. #9
    ? tonytryout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Somewhere out there
    Posts
    864
    Originally posted by alantheso
    i take it if i do that, the .asp need to be on the same server (and same folder?)

    could that also be what was giving me trouble?
    Possibly. I don't know much about the server itself. But it could be the problem?

    Ensure that all files are in the same folder/server. E.g.

    SERVER
    -- MyFirstWork
    ---- index.htm
    ---- flash.swf
    ---- addemail.asp
    ---- database.mdb

    -- MySecondWork
    ---- index.htm
    ---- menu.htm
    ---- main.htm
    ---- contacts.htm

    -- MyThirdWork
    etc.
    -- MyFourthWork
    etc.

    MyXXXWork are folders. In your MyFirstWork folder, you will see all the necessary files are in the same folder.

    Hope this helps mate.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  




Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

HTML5 Development Center